Bearded Iris - The gift that keeps on Giving!!

in #gardening8 years ago

These are just beauties! And they are also a fine example of plant sharing. I did not buy these! I was working in a client's garden a few years ago and we were dividing the iris. Iris NEED to be divided every few years...it gives the rhizomes new life. A side benefit of dividing the iris is that you end up with way more iris rhizomes than you need. SO.....guess who benefits? Moi! I brought home the extra rhizomes and WOW! These are the gifts that keep on giving. Soon I will have to divide my own, and I will happily share with a friend.

Iris Rhizomes: How to divide: In August dig up a clump of iris. Shake off the dirt and separate the rhizomes. Break off any tips that look like a worm may have chewed a bit. Save the rhizomes that have at least one 'eye' which will be the budding new iris for the following spring. Cut the iris leaves short (I like to cut them into a 'fan'), and then they are ready to plant anew.

I LOVE this chore because once you dig up all your clumps, you can do the pulling apart and cutting SITTING DOWN! Come August, I will take some photos of dividing the iris. But for now...just enjoy the blooms :-)

-gardenlady

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58431.12
ETH 3142.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43