🍉🍉 Watermelon Update 🍉🍉

in #gardening6 years ago

Hello,

It has been a while but today I am back to show you how my watermelon plants are going... SPOILER! Pretty well if I do say so myself!!


GCWMA1.JPG

GCWMA3.JPG


The OG melon featured in my July Garden Update has come a fair way!!! I'm really impressed. I have never grown watermelon before so watching it develop has been really neat.

Not only that - the OG has some new friends!


GCWMA2.JPG

GCWMA4.JPG

GCWMA5.JPG


As you can see I have a total of three little baby melons now! The smallest one is a bit scratched up but I am hoping that won't hinder it. The melons are all slightly different in outer colour but I guess I'll see what they look like once fully grown!

I haven't shown the rest of my garden lately as it has been so hot that many plants are struggling. I am keeping up with watering and hoping that everything will pull through. I still have yet to grow a healthy pepper though I think I am finally ridding them of the bug I mentioned before.

I hope you liked this post. Please link me to your latest gardening posts so I can see what you have been growing!

Gardeningchef

Sort:  

Yay! So good to see another progress! Your watermelons are so cute!

I really hope you will resolve the issue with the bug on your peppers!

Thank you for sharing my dear :)

Thanks @delishtreats, I'm pleased you like seeing these updates! I think the issue is nearly resolved... now I am battling the fierce heat of summer to keep the plants from wilting and dying!

Mmmmmm those melons are looking well on the way now! Thanks for such awesome photos. That’s cool you have different varieties growing, a sure way not to be disappointed. Variety is the spice of life as they say. I noticed @papa-pepper grew an orange watermelon recently which looked interesting.
That’s great news you say the problem with the peppers may be passing? Did you try something that is taking effect? Do share if you have some tips on the problem. luckily peppers have a long season once they start producing so there should still be lots of time to get some harvested.
I hope we see you again soon as I always really enjoy your posts - we are here to encourage new gardeners such as yourself and love seeing how you are coming along. Yes u are doing an awesome job, there’s is a lot to learn and you are doing fabulously. Remember too that all gardeners have successes and failures... it’s just nature. have a beautiful day @gardeningchef and keep posting, we love it! Resteemed🌈🌴💛🦋❤️

Hey @sallybeth23! Glad you liked my post. I will have to check out Papa Peppers orange watermelon.. haven't seen one of those before!

I used some bicarbonate of soda on the soil and it seems to have improved the situation somewhat, the brown spotting is disappearing from the peppers. I hope I can get one tasty untainted red pepper out of all of this!! The heat of summer is now wilting the plants so they are still battling to survive.

Thank you for your support and words of encouragement re my gardening - there are ups and downs for sure but I am learning and that's the main thing! I hope you are having a great day in the jungle :D

I am pleased the bicarbonate seems to be working. Wilting can also be caused by overwatering so do soil tests with your finger and if very damp hold back on watering a day until they pick up.

Such an amazing photos. It was really beautiful. And you do good job. I think I also make a garden and there have lots of vegetables, flower also...

Upvoted & Resteemed

Hi Rafiqul,
Happy friendship day bro! Yes do make yourself a garden - a brilliant idea - save money and eat the finest food on earth - and post your progress to steemit :D

Thanks for feedback... And happy friendship day too...pray for me

Thank you for your support! Would love to see your vegetables if you have any photos :D

Not yet now. Hope so, ASAP I'll uploaded when i'll make a garden.

I am enthusiastic and can feel the joy of having my own fruits and vegetables in my own garden. It is simply a different experience when you process and enjoy freshly harvested products. Thus one has another relation to the food one consumes daily.

20180711_131723.jpg

Cordial greetings from @faltermann 🦋 🐛

I couldn't agree more @faltermann! It is very joyous to harvest my own fruit and be able to truly reap the rewards of the hard labour.

Your garden looks wonderful by the way! Do talk me through it - I am not good at identifying plants just yet!

It's not really my garden, it's my wife's. We have only one balcony and try to use the space as optimally as possible. However, the small area is only sufficient for a few plants.

Currently they are apart from the flowers as follows:

Chilly
tomatoes
turquoise
salad
cucumbers
basil
rocket salad
blood camphor
tarragon
oregano

You have to be satisfied with what you have ;-)

Many greetings from Germany 🦋 🐛

I agree with @gardeningchef your balcony garden looks amazing and a great inspiration to anyone who thinks they don’t have enough space for a vegetable garden. You are a shining example. 👏👏👏👏👏👏👏🦋🌴🌈💛❤️

Many thanks for your feedback!

That is a plentiful array of plants you have going, considering your limited space! You & your wife are clearly very resourceful with the space you have. It's perfect!!

Greetings from Spain 🌞😎

Loading...

Beautiful photography.

Posted using Partiko Android

It is a very delicious fruit and contains many vitamins and health benefits.

I agree. Watermelon is one of my favourite fruits to eat!

@gardeningchef
They are so cool.
Watermelon is so good for us too.

Indeed, watermelon is very healthy!

Wow! Your watermelon looks great! I have tried watermelon before, and I failed. :( Today I planted again. Hope I won't fail this time. It was really good to see your post :)

Fingers crossed your watermelon plants do well! Some friendly advice: make sure that you have a maximum of 2-3 melons growing per plant. They tend to overproduce fruit so you need to keep trimming excess flowers off when they already have fruit growing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83