This Morning in the Polytunnel - Gardeningchef

in #gardening6 years ago

Hello!

The heat has truly arrived here in Spain: 30 degrees (celsius) is the current norm so I am keeping an even closer eye on my plants to make sure they are kept watered and happy. I took some photos in the polytunnel this morning to share the progress with you all. I hope you enjoy!


190618-01.jpg

190618-02.jpg

190618-03.jpg


190618-04.jpg


190618-05.jpg

190618-06.jpg

190618-07.jpg


190618-08.jpg

190618-09.jpg

190618-10.jpg

190618-11.jpg


The peppers are taking their time to produce (lots of flowers but they keep dying off) so I am lucky to say I have 5 peppers growing right now. The pointed pepper variety seems to be finding it harder but as you can see by the first photograph, I have been blessed with one at last. Equally, my plum cherry tomatoes are finally showing. I am loving the pattern on the fruit.

A few days ago I applied a bug repelling soap spray on all the plants in the poly, including the smaller newer plants like my cucumbers. As you may be able to tell the soap has burnt their poor leaves in places. I was trying to save them from bugs, not realising it would hurt them. Despite that I think they will survive.

Let my mistake be a warning: DO NOT apply soap spray onto growing baby plants!

My lemon cucumbers have finally sprouted in the root trainer (the third and last of the cucumber varieties) so I shall be transplanting those soon. I am debating putting them in a pot outside to see how they do.

The gourmet basil is slowly growing in size, my row of leeks have finally sprouted, the Hamburg parsley is working its way up, and the spinach is developing further. I was hoping for a more voluminous amount of spinach but I am mainly just happy to see it growing!!

That's all for now. I hope you liked this post, feedback is greatly welcomed. As always please link me to your latest gardening posts so I can check them out :D

Gardeningchef

Sort:  

I love to see your crops growing. What a lovely progress!!!

I think it's normal when you don't get a fruit from each paprika flower but still you are rewarded with a few at least :)

I have never heard of lemon cucumbers! Every day is a school day :) How do they taste?

Thank you for sharing your garden again my dear!

Hello @delishtreats!! That's good to know that it is normal for flowers to fall. I was worried I was doing something wrong!

The lemon cucumbers are new to me too - I haven't eaten them before but I was gifted some seeds to try. They are from America!

So glad you enjoyed the post, thank you for your kind words! :D

Great looking veggies!!!! Looking forward to seeing them grow!!! 😊

Thank you @jonesey :D I can't wait to eat some!

Nice work seems to be coming along nicely. A good harvest this year 💯🐒

Thanks @vibeof100monkeys! I hope for a plentiful harvest :D

Hope you do 💯🐒

Glad to hear and see your plants are doing well!

I love the showcase of photos from your politunnel! You should do a weekly recurring post about them so we can all see them develop as you do. :D

Beautiful photography as always, the 3rd shot of the green pepper was my favourite!

Hey MC! Thank you for stopping by with your lovely feedback, glad you liked the photos too :D

A weekly recurring poly post is a good idea, and perhaps more doable now things are progressing a bit quicker. I fear I would bore people otherwise!

I hope you are having a great day. I look forward to your new contest stencil later today!

Thanks for sharing @mobios, it was a good read!

Wow what a great post of your gardening progress. The photos are top quality as always, I am sure your veggies are aware of the love and attention and make themselves especially good looking for you. Plants certainly respond to love and there is no shortage of that in your garden! The pepper flowers dropping is not from your mistakes, they do this of their own accord for a variety of reasons - i have added a link so you can read up on the reasons it happens, and the article points out that novice gardeners are quick to blame themselves but it’s not your fault at all.... https://dengarden.com/gardening/Pepper-Plant-Blossom-Drop

I look forward to your next update - if it’s getting too hot for some of the things in your open air boxes a netted shade over the top may be beneficial. You can do this in various ways but simple pvc pipes pushed in and bent into arches that you then spread net over are a popular choice for many gardeners as lots of people have odd bits of tubing in their sheds.haha I added a link to a photo to demonstrate what I mean. HAPPY GARDENING!!!!! Steem on ❤️🦋🌴🌈
https://goo.gl/images/kWEkbm
RESTEEMED AND UPVOTED

Hahaha I sure hope my plants feel the love - they are like my babies! Thank you for putting me onto that link regarding the pepper plant flowers... it is reassuring to know that I am not the reason for it. We have had temperature fluctuations so that could be a possible cause. I am trying to find the perfect watering routine for them, I have been doing light daily watering since the temperature rose to 30 and beyond but after reading your article I am thinking a heavier watering every now and again would benefit them more. Would you agree?

I have pulled a net over some of my polytunnel roof to shield the peppers, tomatoes and cucumbers. Ironically the plants with the most peppers are out of the shade! My raised bed seedlings are looking ok (must show those soon) but I will definitely cover them with a net if I see they are drooping. Thank you for the pipe cover suggestion - looks just the sort of thing I need!

As always a big THANK YOU for all your wonderful support @sallybeth23!!!

so glad that article was useful. the nets over the grow boxes also protect against bugs somewhat should they become an issue. Yes maybe heavier watering every few days could be advantageous, give it a go anyway ... keep a close eye and decide if its helping. gardening is trial and error - we are all learning as we go.

Hi GC,
Wow your garden is looking wonderful! Heat can be a problem for some veggies... a little shade net on top of your polytunnel could keep a bit of the heat off while letting enough light through.

Upvoted and resteemed :D

Thanks so much @icedrum! I have pulled some net over the polytunnel, I may need to add more as it doesn't cover the full beds!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86