How to get a near 100% pollination with your tomato plants.

in #gardening7 years ago

If you are a gardener like me, you want as much produce as you can possibly get out of your space in the garden. I use this method to pollinate my tomatoes. You see, tomato flowers are both male and female so they can self pollinate to form fruit. But they also need help in doing so. Only about 25% of the flowers will pollinate by themselves on average. What I do is find the open flower clusters and just take your fingers and just wiggle and shake the stem for about 20 seconds or so that the cluster of flowers are on. This method will allow the pollen to fertilize the plant and now it will form fruit. You will get a bigger crop every time and who doesn't want that?
Thanks, Garden Gnome

Sort:  

Great tip - I am going to try it tomorrow. One of my plants has flowers but no fruit! Thanks @gardengnome. Upvoted and following!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60252.67
ETH 2426.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44