SEED SWAP on STEEMIT...We Need to Create a group and Help a fellow Gardner Near you out.

I did a post recently about starting your seeds now for your Fall Harvest, and I had a few comments asking me about my seeds. I typically do harvest my seeds from my own vegetables when I have success, but buy the rest. So then I was thinking, as this wonderful community of STEEMIT is evolving at a great pace, I thought why not have a SEED SWAP.

seed-swap.jpg

Ideally I would get people to comment what country they are from, and what zone they grow in. Then I can bunch all the names of people from the same country and zone and publish the list. Then if someone has an abundant amount of seeds they are willing to send for a few cents in the mail to this person, then we have helped our friends in Gardening. If you feel this is not a safe way to do this, then you can agree to have them placed at the local library and they can pick them up from there. Also if you are from a small town like me, but travel often to the larger city like me (oh you know COSTCO trips, you can arrange to have a mutually agreed upon drop off place or meet at a coffee shop etc. kinda like buy and sells on Kijiji and or Facebook.

harvest seeds.jpg

So I am putting it out there to all the #gardening #homesteading #survival #life #flower people here on Steemit. What are your thoughts? Please share any input to see if we can get this community of like minded people sharing and growing together.

Image Source:
https://lbb.in/bangalore/seed-swap-bangalore/

Sort:  

It's a great idea and another way to tell governments to pound sand. Since seed swapping is a big no no in many places. Phyto-nazis as I like to call them. I look forward to seeing how it progresses! Steem On!

Thank you, I hope it goes well too. I was not aware seeds swaping in local zones was prohibited. Really? Not here in Canada

I'm a seed addict so yes, I'm in! I also love your felco pruners!

Had a nagging suspicion I'd find you here on this thread 😋 @wholesomeroots, I was about to tag you after just replying to my post - but I thought to check first and you're already here.. 👍🏻

you should create a new tag for this like #steemseeds or something like that.

I'm in. Zone 8a U.S.

I think this is a wonderful idea! Glad you thought of it. I have some extra heirloom seeds I wouldn't mind parting with as well. Put me on the list. Colorado zone 6.

Wonderful. Welcome. I am now following you, I am looking to set this up in the fall after most gardeners have all their seeds harvested and can swap over the summer. Thanks for joining

Sounds great! I followed you back.

I'm on the edge of zones 4b and 4a, in the part of Michigan that's north of Wisconsin. I have a few different heirloom seeds that I have extras of every year. I think a seed swap would be a really good idea.

Really great idea, @foodisfree was talking last week about the same initiative. I'm sending him this article right away. Something that definitely must be done. This spring I sent tonnes of seeds from my garden to 30 friends in Canada. I would absolutely contribute to this! xo

Yay, I am in Canada. Can't wait.

YES. Great idea. Only thing is that means I have to get organized, lol. Maybe a good thing to do over winter.

Yes something to do in fall when all the seeds are done the harvest.

Would have to be restricted to the same country. Some seeds are illegal to ship in and out of countries.

yes absolutely. That is why I would get them to comment with country and zone so that the seeds will thrive in same district.Thanks

Yes!!!! I want in! Love this soooooo much!

Wonderful. Watch for the post closer to the fall when we all have our seeds, here in the west all finished and putting our gardens to bed for the winter. I will compile my list at that time. Now following you.Thanks

Following back. Yay, I'm so excited!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57