The Hungry Gardener - Tomato varieties trial.

in #gardening7 years ago

This year instead of growing my usual 2 types of tomatoes I am trying 9 different varieties to see which have the best yield and flavour for my area.I have one of each type growing in my polytunnel and all are getting the same watering regime and a feed of comfrey tea once a week since they started flowering. All are cherry or medium sized as we prefer theses to larger tomatoes. All seeds were saved from gardens and growers I have visited over the last year. This is how things are looking on the 24th of July 2017.

  1. Ailsa Craig
    Ailsa Craig.jpg
    A nice few tomatoes on the plant but not many yet ripe.This seems consistent with all the the other types with the smaller varieties ripening much earlier.Nice sweet flavour and looks like I will have a good crop of these in a few weeks.

2.Mexican Midget
Mexican.jpgAn early favourite with a huge crop of tiny bite sized fruit.These have a strong tomato taste and are delicious,one of my favourites and a tomato I will be definitely growing next year.

3.Sakura
Sak2.jpg
Another huge early cropper with sweet and tasty cherry tomatoes.A really juicy fruit which is a definite strong contender for next year.

4.Sungold
Sungold.jpg
A good crop from this tomato with the trusses laden with fruit.Although this plants fruit look more red than the gold I was expecting.Less fruit ripe this early but a solid performance so far.

5.Yellow Submarine
Submarine.jpg
A beautiful almost pear shaped yellow tomato.This has a milder taste and another of my favourites I sampled last year but no fruit ripe yet this year so far so will have to wait another bit.

6.Garnet Black Cherry
Garnet1.jpg
This grape coloured tomato really stands out from the rest and tastes amazing as well.Not as high a yield as other varieties and will be another week before I have some fully ripe.

7.Sweetie
Sweetie.jpg
Really good flavour and a good yield from these small cherrys.A solid grower and a definite for next year.

8.Moneymaker
Moneyma.jpg
A common variety that I usualy grow.Again the medium sized tomatoes taking longer to ripen.

9.Yellow Bush Cherry
Yellow Bush.jpg
A wonderful little plant producing a huge amount of tomatoes in a small area and not requiring support.Just starting to ripen this week and they are delicious.

Will give an update later on in the season with best yields and best producing for the longest time.

Sort:  

This is so cool getting to see up-close the differences in the tomatoes you're growing! And... do I detect the background hints of this being in a greenhouse?!?! Must-Share!!! :-)

I missed your onion post, but look forward to your next one. Upvoted, followed and all that good stuff.

I also want to invite you to the SteemitHomesteaders slack group, more info on it can be found here: https://steemit.com/gardening/@fugit/the-hungry-gardener-tomato-varieties-trial

Thanks, hope to see you there!

Thanks .They are all grown in a polytunnel as outdoors is not great for growing them where I live. I have a small trial of outdoor tomatoes coming on so will have to wait and see will they actually ripen in our climate.

Your tomatoes look very nice, last year I only grew heirloom varieties they tasted great fresh but none tasted as good canned, so this year I stuck with roma's. Next year I will have more varieties won't need to can as many.

Have never grown Roma's.Only heard good things about them so aybe one for me to try next year.

great for canning and juicing but not as good as others for salads and sandwiches

Congratulations @fugit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66