Clean your "crappy" indoor air with these plants! (original artwork)

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

cover-biosphere.jpg

Hello dear Steemians!


After watching a TED-talk "How to grow fresh air" with Kamal Meattle, I decided to compile the information he provides, so that any steemian who might live in a small room with bad air, in a polluted city somewhere, could improve their own air quality and general well-being.

one-person-plant-biosphere.jpg

It boils down to having about four Areca palms, two large "money plants" they are also called "the devil's ivy", and for the bed-room you will need about eight "snake plants" or "Mother-In-Law's Tongue", (the plant names are weird don't ask me why but they are weird I know)...😇

The reason to keep the "snake plants" in the bedroom is because they are one of the few plant's that produce oxygen at night. Most other plants produce CO2 during night time and oxygen during the day, there for better kept in another room in your apartment or house, if possible.

Also plants look pretty and they will give a nice "jungle vibe" to your room!
Or as my dear steemit friend @psilocybit puts it:

"plants those goldenratio energy molecular fibonacci transformers,
they are technology they are friends"

Enjoy!

Source: How to grow fresh air | Kamal Meattle TED talk
Source: NASA Clean Air Study wikipedia.org
Illustrations created by: @friendly-fenix

• Follow
• Upvote
• Resteem -People need fresh air!

Sort:  

Looks interesting, i'll check it later

Cool! Yeah it is nice with clean air.

@grow-pro Have you looked into this at all? I would love your expert advice. This does make sense. We should have plants in our house to clean up the air. All I have inside mine though is a single Aloe plant. LOL.

Aloe are good air-cleaners they say... Have not looked into @grow-pro,
will look now thanks for the link @finnian!

Nice list. And I like the illustrations as well. I'm on the hunt this Spring for plants but there are so few nurseries around here. I hope to find some of the Snake plants because they're so low maintenance.

@omitaylor
Yeah, "snake plants" are pretty awesome, to be honest I never really liked how they looked, they look kind of "evil"... But since these plants are so super practical now I have learnt to love them...

Very informative post. You are a good bloger. Happy Steeming.

Thank you @asikanik, I appreciate your comments!
following

plants those goldenratio energy molecular fibonacci transformers, they are technology they are friends

That sounds about reasonable @psilocybit, I feel a lot better around plants.
Do you have many plants where you live/sleep?

redcannibal keeps intruders away! 💀

Nice one @psilocybit, I should get some of those plants, what carnivorous plants are most efficient against things like small moths and other flying creatures?

any should do the trick! they attrack them :)

Cool I am going to get some...

I love this idea to get rid of flies that get inside. haha

you are welcome :)

I put this quote in the article, hope you don't mind bro...

we are just mediums not finals / take from me everything you want

Thanks for sharing this valuable info! This goes right along with what I share about on my blog, Earth healing, plant medicine and elemental connections!
Upvoted & resteemed, glad to be connected.

hello @onewithearth!!!
Awesome, I am going to check out your blog!
following!

Resteemed upvoted

Thanks Larry...

You have been resteemed by @resteemy, courtesy of @friendly-fenix!
Want to increase your following? Read more about me here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64337.17
ETH 3175.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56