My Tiny Patio Garden!

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

I have always loved plants. Well, a more accurate statement would be I have always loved the idea of owning plants. My mother started a garden while I was a teen, but honestly, the plant I was most interested in at that time was marijuana. However, I distinctly remember a Hibiscus plant that grew maroon blooms the diameter of dinner plates. The size of these flowers just blew me away! In time, I grew to love other flowers and have incorporated them into all 9 of my tattoos, but the Hibiscus has remained my favorite flower and is forever inked on my left hip. Besides their many different colors, varying sizes, and delightful connection to tropical climates, many folks are surprised to learn that Hibiscus is edible. I've most commonly seen Hibiscus tea, but I've been known to offer the jelly with toast in the morning.

This summer, @peacefulpatriot and I moved in together, choosing a lakeside apartment with our own private patio. My hibiscus bush was right at home on our new patio, but the patio was bare and so came the decision to grow my plant collection. I believe growing food is one of the most valuable skills a person can have, but unfortunately living on the second story of an apartment building does not afford me a yard, so container gardening it is!

~~~~~~~~~~

I was given a small succulent that was left over from The Succulent Planting Party at my job. I wasn't able to attend the event, so our manager put one aside for me. Thanks, Rusti!

~~~~~~~~~~

Our Pit Layla wanted to get in on the action and Dempsey Cat was recently very ill, so to see her out on the patio rubbing up on the plants was so heartwarming. She couldn't stop making love to our Basil!

~~~~~~~~~~

After she said her goodbyes, Basil had to be dug up. His life cycle was coming to an end.

~~~~~~~~~~

Mini roses were planted in his place.

~~~~~~~~~~

And a new Purple Basil plant now lives with us!
By the way, concrete does not a comfortable seat make. I need a table to work on.

~~~~~~~~~~

And here's my tiny garden!

~~~~~~~~~~

Aloe, mint, and purple basil.

~~~~~~~~~~

Hello, Aloe!

~~~~~~~~~~

Rosemary and green onion.

~~~~~~~~~~

I managed to find a tiny garden gnome for my tiny garden.

~~~~~~~~~~

My hot pink mini roses are on the left.
They are a tribute to my mother. Not only did she introduce me to gardening, but she named me after herself.... ROSE! <3

~~~~~~~~~~

Dill and lavender in front of my hibiscus.

~~~~~~~~~~

Lavender's close up!

~~~~~~~~~~

Bird's eye view of a second purple basil because we love basil that much, and a white pumpkin that the succulent may or may not get replanted into. I've yet to make up my mind.

~~~~~~~~~~
And for the Grand Finale....the plant that started it all!

~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks for looking!

-ff

Sort:  

Nice pics thanks for sharing!

I love sharing all this with you my heart. I love watching you grow even more than the plants. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81