Dragon Fruit In The Homestead Garden

in #gardening8 years ago (edited)

The Amazing Dragon Fruit

This delicious and exciting member of my garden can be red or yellow. It always has little leave like attatchments all over. This is often compared to the antichocke. They have a deep red flesh or flesh of pure white with tiny edible seeds. Their amazing and unique taste somewhat reminds me of a cross of a Kiwi and a pear. Their is no way to describe this rather one of a kind taste.  The deep magenta Dragon Fruit are the rarest and are very expensive. Both types of Dragon Fruit are extremly good. 

A serving of Dragon Fruit has lots of fiber and 10% of the daily Vitamin C requirements, as well as many other vitamins and even iron.  Regular consumption of this fruit helps to strengthen the immune system. They are also believed to help in the healing of bruises and wounds. In the East, it is used for relief in the event of respiratory problems.

When all my fruit trees are giving their fruit in season, I like to make a fruit salad of 1 1/2 cups papaya, and 1 cup of each strawberriew, mango, dragon fruit, pineapple chunks, and slices of banana. (Whatever is not in season you can usually find Organic at a fruit market.) I take an additional cup of strawberries with a Tablespoon of fresh lime juice or two drops Lime Essential Oil and blend for the dressing. I then garnish with Kiwi or starfruit. 

Dragon Fruit is indigenous to Central America. It is grown and exported in Vietnam, Taiwan, and Thailand.   Dragon Fruit is derived from a cross of several cactus species and grows well in arid and tropical climates. In Northern climates it will grow outside during the warm part of the year, but must be brought inside during the winters.  It can be a difficult plant to germinate directly from seed, but once it begins to thrive, it is easy to grow.  I have both the magenta and the white plant. I planted about 40 seeds and was able to raise 10 of those. The first year, I lost three of the 10 plants. I now have 7  3 year old plants grown from seed and one 6 year old producing plant that I bought a couple of years ago. 

If you are looking for something beyond what you see growing in the neighbors garden, I recomend a tropical garden of Papaya, Mango, Pineapple, and Dragon Fruit. But before you start, know your climate and build a green house, if needed. Papaya, Mango, and Pineapple due marvelous in the green house. I prefer to bring my Dragon Fruit inside, as the green house can get quite humid. 

Another day has come to a close on the homestead, and it is time to get a hot bath and  curl up with a good book.

"Explore the World and soar like an eagle"

Marla Silva @ floridagypsy

https://www.tumblr.com/blog/florida 

https://steemit.com/@floridagypsy   




Sort:  

Not a single bloom ever from our plant ;)
My mom isn't fond of the plant itself.

The tree takes several years to mature before it blooms.

Oh thatvis why lolsss thank u ;)

Sorry for the delay in upvoting. There was a big ice storm that disrupted curation for the @gardening-trail since last Wednesday.

Upvoted by @gardening-trail

Thank you for following and upvoting @gardening-trail
Read our guidelines here. Join us In the Gardening-Trail and let's discuss Gardening Related Topics

This is one of my favorite fruits. Thank you for sharing!

Your welcome. It is one of my favorites also.

nice post we get red here yet to see yellow. upvoted and followed.

Your welcome. You can order the yellow variety out of Hawaii.

It's so great that you are able to grow these. I like that you started some from seed, too. Are you getting any fruits yet, from your 3-year-old plants?

I get fruit from the 6 year old plant. I have not from the 3 year old plants. I have been growing them in Florida and then moved to San Diego. I am moving them shortly to Washington and will build a green house for my tropicals.

Have a good move! And I hope you get plenty of winter sun for your greenhouse in Washington!

I may have to use lights part of the time. I did in Alaska.

Those Alaskan winter nights must be so long! Thank goodness for plant lights! : )

I'm trying to grow some in Arkansas... moved inside for the winter...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40