Giant Sunflower Harvest

in #gardening7 years ago

Mongolian & American Giant Sunflowers


The 14 foot tall sunflowers had to be harvested since they had started to fall over from being too top heavy. These sunflowers are the tallest I have ever seen and grown. The 2 types have distinctly different colored seeds with the Mongolian being a purple and the American being black striped. Once I get the seeds dried and shucked/sorted I will be offering them up for sale and trade both here and in my OpenBazaar store:

OB://QmT1H2FXBzB8z7BKB9hMyuHnVAw52XqLtfzdFKiV7Tr29v

IMG_20170922_121400000_HDR.jpg

You can see how they had started falling over and laying atop the tomato row, atop each others support ties, and then just snapping mid way. I had to put in support bars to tie to at to 8 feet high. It worked to keep them from being damaged by the winds. The freezing temps have done a bit of damage to them such that I think it weakened the fibers a bit, allowing them to more easily fall over.

IMG_20170922_115250785.jpg

170 inches or 14 feet 2 inches tall was my Grand Champion winning Mongolian Giant Sunflower that I entered into the Spokane County Fair this year. It was the tallest one by 5 inches, the next tallest ones were all 165 inches. I am quite proud of this as I am actually able to compete at growing SOMETHING. I can grow anything, but never felt I could compete in any major way.

IMG_20170923_142527427.jpg

Camera: Motorola Droid Phone

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, & following!


Join the SteemitHomesteaders Slack Channel! Image is Invite Link.


http://SteemitHomesteaders.slack.com

Sort:  

It sure is nice to have some seeds for growing these!

I am really happy to see the cuttings made it looking good and still pretty strong! I figured you would dig the sunflower seeds and I can't wait to see the how tall yours get down there. I had them on daily water with the rest of my garden so were getting about half a gallon per day via drip.

I LOVE chinese noodle beans. I grew them a few years back and have a small handful of the beans left but it works perfect as I am already planning on growing a couple rows of them next year in with my pole beans yard. So thank you in advance!

Congrats on the win! Make sure to charge a lil extra for those seeds... ;~D

Thank you. I have enough of the others that I grew that hit 14 feet that I probably don't have to sell any of my winner's seeds. But if I do they will have to get a slight premium for sure!

Have you had any luck with your open bazaar store?

Actually yes I have. I started my store last year and have sold about .75 btc of various items. Most sales were last year but I have OB 2.0 going and my store is up and running now and am adding items daily. I recommend EVERYONE setup an OpenBazaar store

That's awesome! I might set one up in the future. I love the idea behind it. : )

Once the migration tool is released it will allow more of the original stores to get their listings up without having to re-input all the listings. Once that happens the usage should go up dramatically.

I see that the search functionality is much better so that's good! When I first downloaded it I had a hard time finding anything. Glad to see development is going well. : )

Those are amazing! I'll have to try some eventually!

Congratulations @flemingfarm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

beautifull gardening picture 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61436.95
ETH 3388.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49