You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Master Class On Making Compost

in #gardening5 years ago

My first little foray into permaculture was to transform a yard that had been overgrown for years with "lasagna mulch." The life that swarmed under that layer of cardboard was amazing, and I literally went from waist high weeds to a bountiful garden in one year.

Sort:  

That is a great technique and makes for some great soil. Here's a post about reclaiming a weed infested piece of land and transforming it into a thriving vegetable garden using chickens.

https://steemit.com/gardening/@luzcypher/chickens-planting-gardens-how-to-get-chickens-to-plant-gardens-not-destroy-them

"The grass is greener where you water it" - lol!
Salatin is a genius IMO. He is the one who took it from small, hobby farming to massive food production. I do the pasture penning thing for my meat birds and have free ranged my layers in the past, but we plan to switch to a paddock system this year. I took last year off, no chickens at all. It was really nice not having chicken poop just everywhere and I do not want to go back to that lol!

I like Salatin. He is one of the best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54096.18
ETH 2412.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.10