You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Understanding DTM! | Urban Farming Day 2

in #gardening7 years ago

Awesome job guys! Have you thought about looking deeper in to the square foot gardening method? I haven't done it myself, but maybe it can help you learn to plant a little closer than what's called for in the directions of the seed packet to make a more dense garden, ultimately creating higher yielding crops? Also, I think it's hot and dry in the summer there? It's good to have a little closer plantings to help retain moisture in the soil. :D

Sort:  

Yes! we actually found a post here on Steemit about it (Unfortunately don't have a link for it...). It's something on our always growing list of things to learn about.

We do know we will be doing some version of intensive planting. My guess is that it will take quite a few experiments to figure out what actually works best for us.

Definitely! I tried having a garden here this year (just bought the place in Dec.) had no idea that the stupid ground squirrels will EAT ALL THE THINGS EVER TO BE PLANTED. Ugh. Next year will be raised beds and more learning for me as well!!

jajaja I literally just had a conversation here about gophers ruining their entire crop. Before then I hadn't even considered setting up some defense.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54