What a pleasant surprise!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening5 years ago

This was supposed to be the last moment for this Kalanchoe. I saw the flower spike to grow and I just wanted to wait for it to bloom, them throw away the spent flowers and the rest of the plant. It is my least favourite Kalanchoe type thatI have and it grows little offshoots like mad! Every leaf has a bunch of them around, then they fall and start growing everywhere. Pure weed!

kalanchoe daigremontiana flower 3.jpg

Today as I went outside to water the million of pots I have there, I saw the flowers. I really thought they will be the usual red that I have on other two Kalanchoe types. The flower stem and buds were indicating this. But noooo... they are yellow! And I love yellow flowers :)

kalanchoe daigremontiana flower 1.jpg

Change of plans. Now I will take a wider pot and plant a few of those babies that detached from the leaves and started to grow under this one. So hopefully next year I will have more of those charming little bells in bloom.
Saved by the bell.

kalanchoe daigremontiana flower 4.jpg

kalanchoe daigremontiana flower 2.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
(ƒ/14, 1/400, ISO400)
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

REGISTRATION | UPVOTE VALUES | NEW MEMBERS BONUS

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.


»«

Did you play The coolest game in the blockchain yet?

Sort:  

So pretty!How many types of kalanchoe are out there? I have one that gives tiny leaves in the border of the bigger leaves.

I have no idea! Lots and lots probably.
Those are babies, not leaves ;) They will soon start growing tiny roots and will fall from the plant and start a new plant.

Hi, @ewkaw!

You just got a 0.09% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Wow beautiful flowers! I haven't seen this before. I used to grow a Kalanchoe when I lived in a warmer climate that had almost cheetah patterns on the stalks.

Hi! Forgive me if I'm being intrusive, but @homesteaderscoop is on the list to possibly win 20k delegation for a year from @theycallmedan. We’re humbled and blown away, and super excited as we win 1K just for getting on the list! This flows down to everyone who supports us in the form of upvotes, challenges, and enthusiasm to keep what we do going. We support homesteading, gardening, spirituality, and other alternative ways of living driven by a love of sustainability, ethics and the environment. And of course we offer a free market to buy and sell sustainable goods and ethical services for STEEM and SBD! Your vote matters – it really does – and by voting for Homesteaders Co-op, you’re saying you support sustainability, ethics, the environment, natural living and more. Go you – you are awesome! Here’s the link to the Dpoll: https://dpoll.xyz/detail/@theycallmedan/which-steem-project-should-i-delegate-20k-steempower-to-for-1-year/

p.s. If you vote, which I hope you do, I am also running a contest for 20 steem here which you are welcome to enter!

coop-logo-steem-medium.png

Thank you! There is many types of them and they all look so different :)

Sorry, but I a with Qurator on this one ;)

Hey no worries :) I do appreciate Qurator and what they are doing, so I am glad they got your vote!

Hi @ewkaw!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.373 which ranks you at #2383 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 31 places in the last three days (old rank 2414).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 399 contributions, your post is ranked at #156.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05