Three stages - Candytuft

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

From buds, to flower to seeds.. the cycle is done. All in front of my eyes.

One of the things I love about growing own plants from seeds is watching the evolve, changing, slowly creating the flowers buds... until the finally boom. It is way more rewarding than buying already grown plants. But also takes a lot more time and patience.

candytuft flower buds 1.jpg

Then you see the flower slowly fading, the pods or just seeds start to form. If the drop to the soil, another plant starts and the cycle begins all over again.

candytuft purple flower 1.jpg

This is Candytuft [Iberis sempervirens] that I had this year in the balcony. I picked some seeds from my mum's garden last year and just dropped the seeds in spring into one of the pots. They sprouted without any issues, grew to a lovely green plants and now it is almost over. Time to pick the seeds again and keep them for another season. I like those. So easy to grow, so resistance to heat and me forgetting to water them sometimes. And the just look so pretty.

Candystuft seeds macro 2.jpg

Check that out. This is how what's left of the seeds skeleton looks like in winter. Shoot in the garden after I picked the seeds few days before. The snow came and they looked even more beautiful!

candytuft ubiorek skeleton 2.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
Click on the image to view full screen!

»»-------------¤-------------««

Your posts need some push? Join @Qurator for extra exposure.

Qurator 3.0 - UPDATE POST - Guidelines | Registration Details | Tier Changes

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

Congratulations @ewkaw! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Awww... fascinating in all four stages... :)

Thanks! I neeedd bigger balcooonnyyyy... so many pretty flowers I want to sow :p

Hehehe... you'll never have big enough! Lol... once you get a bigger one, you'll want bigger... and bigger... And Suzi will go crazy trying to check everything! Lol....

Yeaaa... :D more more moreeee
And she will have fun walking between the pots. Now she just goes for 5 mins.. snifs.. inspection done, back to the house.

Guardian of the flower pots! Lol...

What I like about growing plants from seeds is the feeling that they germinate and grow in me, like plant is than part of me completely. :)

Especially if you eat it after :p
:) I just love to watch them grow..

I'm so proud of my little babies when I grow from seed

Me too. I wish I could grow veggies too...

I love vegetable gardens and it's great when it works but this place has been a real challenge because of the soil pests. Despite all the hard work to prepare the soil, the harvests haven't been great and some plants just died :( It's going to take years to improve. Sometimes, I think that I just shouldn't bother with veggies

That would be a pity. Not even like onions or garlic?
What about some fruits trees.. I know its not veggies.. but nice food too.

I want to grow things to eat like spinach, beans, kale, tomatoes and pumpkin. Fruit trees would take years and the soil isn't suitable for fruit trees

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of August 17 2018! Check it out to see who nominated you…

Hello @ewkaw, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Awesome! Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59099.74
ETH 2639.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49