Mass bud production.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening5 years ago

My very first Gymnocalycium cactus that I was super lucky to get in a regular supermarket during my regular grocery shopping. I never saw them after again.
Back them I didn't even know what type it was. I just liked the shape and small spines. It bloomed for the first time few months later.
And now, another year after it looks like a crazy bud producer and looks like it ain't gonna stop anytime soon.

Gymnocalycium Anisitsii


Gymnocalycium Anisitsii multi buds 4.jpg

I already mentioned with another cactus of type, that those buds from Gymno cacti are my favourite. The grow like little treasure eggs and then they open to a beautiful, delicate blooms.

Gymnocalycium Anisitsii multi buds 5.jpg

Gymnocalycium Anisitsii multi buds 2.jpg

The cactu itself grew quite a bit too since I got it. I dare to say that it doubled in size. And I know they can be even bigger!
Now that it lives outside it changes colour for more purple when it gets too much sun. I have to be careful not to fry it. I don't mind the colour, but too much sun is no good for him. Feel free to admire those lovely spines and gorgeous ribs...

I read that it this type hardly produce offshoots, so if I want more I will have to grow them from seed... now my curious testing nature is telling me to cross polinate it with another Gymnocalycium. I just might have two different types in bloom on the same time :p. The only bad thing about this method is at least 2-3 years of waiting until the babies reach blooming size.

Gymnocalycium Anisitsii multi buds 3.jpg

How many buds can you see? I kind of wish they all grew in the same time and then bloom in the same time. But I can't be too picky. I am glad I didn't kill it and it will bloom at all. One by one.

Gymnocalycium Anisitsii multi buds 1.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
(f/9, 1/640, 105mm, ISO160)
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

REGISTRATION | UPVOTE VALUES | NEW MEMBERS BONUS

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

Super!
Congratulations, waiting for a photo of his bloom !!!

Soon, very soon :)
There is another one that will bloom even sooner.

Super!
I now have a lot of cacti with buds :-)))
There are cacti that will bloom for the first time, and I am very interested!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98