Gymnocalycium saglionissteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)
ENPL
I think I managed to ID the new spiky babies I was showing. So this is the first one. Cause it is the meanest of them all! Those huge, dark spines remind me of mountain sheep (too much National Geographic I know… but it is the best background noise while writing a post or editing photos).Chyba udało mi się zidentyfikować wszystkie nowe kolczaki. Ten będzie jako pierwszy. Dlatego, że ma największe ciernie! Tak patrzę i od razu przypominają mi się te wielkie owce górskie (za dużo National Geographic oglądam… ale to najlepszy zagłuszacz do pisania postów czy edytowania zdjęć).

Gymnocalycium saglionis (saglione)

Gymnocalycium saglionis 2.jpg

ENPL
I got it in the same place I got my very first Gymnocalycium cactus. They do happen to have more varieties from time to time than just the annoying furry opuntias and common mammillarias. I had no clue what type it was, I just really liked the look of it. Then back home I start to look for what I got.Tego gagatka kupilam w tym samym sklepie co pierwszego Gymnolka w zeszłym roku. Czasami uda się tam trafić na fajne okazji pośród samych denerwujących opuncji i powszechnych mammillarii. Oczywiście pojęcia nie miałam co biorę. Spodobał mi się i już. Dopiero w domu szperać co to za cudo.

Gymnocalycium saglionis 3.jpg

ENPL
Gymnocalycium saglionis also called Giant Chin Cactus is native to Argentina and grows on rocky soil. Which only reminds to repot it from that nasty compost they sell it in. Poor thing.Gymnocalycium saglionis znane również jako Giant Chin Cactus pochodzi z Argentyny i rośnie sobie w dosyć kamienistym podłożu. Co tylko mi przypomina, że muszę mojego przesadzić i usunąć ten paskudny torf, w którym rośnie. Bidulek.

Gymnocalycium saglionis 4.jpg

ENPL
It is known to grow slowly, but with time it can reach quite impressive size, even 40 cm in diameter! Now that is a giant cactus for me. I don't think mine will get this big. And doesn't even have to. As long as it is alive and blooms. I remember I got the previous Gymno around this time last year and it already had flower the following spring. Lets hope this one does it too. Though looking at the photos in the internet, it might be still a bit young plant to bloom. We’ll see :).Ten okaz znany jest ze swojego powolnego wzrostu, ale może z czasem osiągnąć niesamowite rozmiary, aż do 40 cm średnicy. To już dla mnie jest gigant. Nie sądzę, żeby urósł u mnie tak duży. I nawet nie za bardzo musi. Niech tylko pozostanie przy życiu i kwitnie. Pamiętam, że poprzednie Gymnocalycium kupiłam też o tej porze roku i już kolejnej wiosny kwitł. Mam cichą nadzieję, że ten też tak potrafi. Chociaż patrząc na zdjęcia w internecie, to może być to jest za młoda roślina. Zobaczymy :).

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
(ƒ/14, 1/200, ISO125)
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

Your posts need some push? Join @Qurator for extra exposure.

REGISTRATION AND NEW MEMBERS BONUS UPDATE

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

That's the problem with many cacti you buy, you have no idea how big they might get

If they get too big I sell them or give away. I normally don't buy the columnar ones. And the round one that will grow to a big size are slow growers. I think I am still safe :)

Hi @ewkaw!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.335 which ranks you at #2411 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 8 places in the last three days (old rank 2419).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 229 contributions, your post is ranked at #140.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67079.94
ETH 3266.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64