Plant Showcase #1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

So I have decided to start a new thing with my blog, every day im going to pick a plant, maybe 2 if im ambitious, and dedicate a blog to each of them and break down what type of plant, why i like it and plant it and then tips on planting and maintaining it. For my first one i picked one of my favourite's... the walking onion, or you may call it tree onion or egyptian walking onion etc

20190522_022907.jpg

This onions one of my favourites cause its perennial and it multiples with ease. I started with 10 plants and i got over 500 now that i get 1000s of bulbs off every year to plant and grow to eat or sell... or start and sell to others as starter plants. they have a taste like shallot but stronger. they have really strong greens great for soup. The first year they wont get big enough to produce bulbs but second year they will make bulbs, each plant makes a bulb with 5 - 15 bulbets on top versus most onions make flowers and seeds not bulbs. and then those bulbs you can either plant and grow to eat, or throw back in the ground and expand your patch, or just leave them on the plant and the stalks will fall over once the bulbs are heavy enough and just expand on their own which is where the name walking onion was establish. Their super easy to grow, after the first year and theyve been well establish, you can forget to water them for a month and their fine lol ive forgot my one patch in the back alley numerous times over the years. They dont like being super wet they like well drained soil.

All picture's are taken by me, no use of photoshop or editing, just use them as they come out. and you may re use them IF and only IF you put a link to this blog in the post you use the picture's for. and if it is for something outside of steemit i.e advertising. you contact me and ask permission.

As always if you like my post's leave a vote, or a follow and resteem. Drop a comment, ask for advice, im always up for a chat.. I follow back anyone that follows me and take a look through your blog. I especially like meeting other gardener's here.
Be sure to comment, and resteem and vote, For every post that reaches atleast 3$ i will be randomely selecting one of the voter's and messaging them and sending them a free pack of seeds of their choice from my list :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @ewasteguy1! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 150 posts. Your next target is to reach 200 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50