My cucumber plant - crazy growth speed! Check this out!

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

Hi all,

It's been a while since I gave a little plant/gardening update. Do you remember that I had a small cucumber plant growing in one of my pots on my balcony? It grows insanely fast!

To show you just how fast it grows, I have been taking a series of photos every day. These first 5 pictures were taken in 24 hour intervals, and the last 2 with 48 hour intervals.

Crazy, don't you think?

1.jpeg

Look at picture number 1 - the plant hasn't reached the horizontal string yet, and the next day it's already there!

2.jpeg

When I took the photo the following day, I couldn't believe how much it had grown! Most plants don't change that much overnight, but cucumber plants grow extremely quickly!

Sometimes I'm sitting at my desk working (and I can see the plant from there), and I can literally see the movement of the plant within one hour. The little tentacles would point in one direction, and when I look again they point in another. It's truly jaw dropping in my opinion. I had never paid such close attention to this before.

3.jpeg

4.jpeg

Here you see that the plant is reaching for the roof, and the next day it seems to have understood that it can't grow any higher. Sometimes I wonder if these plants can "see". How do they know where they can hold onto something without having any eyes? Maybe the little tentacles just kind of"feel" around until they touch something? Who knows!

5.jpeg

The following pic was taken just yesterday, and the plant somehow understood that it has to keep walking horizontally.

6.jpeg

today 7.jpeg

today 8.jpeg

I'm very pleased that I finally got a little cucumber. This pant took forever to develop female flowers. You can recognize the female flowers because they already have a mini cucumber attached to them, like in my last photo.

If you didn't know, cucumber plants develop male and female flowers, and for a cucumber to grow, they need a bee to pollinate the female flowers at the top with the pollen from the male flowers at the bottom of the plant.

Nature is amazing isn't it?

So this plant had only male flowers until it started going horizontal at the top, and with a different cucumber variety I had seen female flowers appear much sooner.

These last two photos were taken this morning. Check that blue sky...too bad I have to work today!

I hope that you've enjoyed watching my cucumber plant grow, and of course there will be an update as soon as my little cucumbers grow and are harvested.


Thanks for reading, and I look forward to your comments below. Votes are cool, but comments are better =)

_________eve signature.png

Sort:  

Beautiful phallic veggies!

How’s the slower cucumbers in the ground doing?

They died or almost died 🙄, but I will grow more on my balcony 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

ya, do what makes them happiest !

This really is cool to watch, it shows just how alive they are! Homegrown is the best ☺️

Awww It wants to reach the light and touch the sky :)
pd. love cucumbers!

yes exactly LOL It tried to reach for the sky I think hehehe =)

Must be roids :D crazy growth for one week :D

So it basically grew faster cuz it had just male flowers?

Posted using Partiko Android

hey @matkodurko! No, I don't think that it has anything to do with the flowers, it's just the plant itself. I think cucumber grows quickly...they also don't live very long, I think 3 months and then they die. The female flowers appear at different stages depending on the cucumber variety =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70