Lavender Benefits

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

I thought I would talk a little about lavender essential oil tonight. I am after all, Essential Oil Mom. 😁

IMG_20180118_203333081.jpg

Lavender is one of the top 10 most common and used essential oils. It's relaxing and calming properties are two of the biggest reasons. But did you know that it's used for so much more.

This week I have used my lavender roller bottle for more then just relaxing. It also has antibacterial properties. I have been fighting a cold, and with me it can easily turn into bronchitis. So taking good care of myself is important. And lavender is one of the oils I use to help.

It smells great in a diffuser.
Aromatherapy is a great way to have everyone in the house using the oils.

Another great way to use it is on your feet. Your feet have the most pores on your body. Scientist have proved that within a few seconds to a few minutes, the oil is in your system. How crazy is that?! There are certain oils, cinnamon for example, that I can literally taste within a minute after apply to my feet.

We also use lavender in our first aid kit. IMG_20180118_203400303.jpg

This roller bottle makes it quick and easy to apply, whether it's for tension in my head, scrapes or cuts or even the occasional burn from cooking.

A drop or two with epsom salt in a warm bath is a nice way to relax for the night. Let the stress from the day go.

Occasionally I will add a drop to some water, shake it really well and spray to our bedding or pillows. Shhh don't tell my son. 😂

I'm so excited to start my own herb/medicinal garden this spring. Lavender is at the top of the list to plant. They are perennial plants. So hopefully I will get a good plant this year and they will grow back again and again. From my research, they love sunny and well drained areas. Living on top of a hill with sunlight all day on our land, I should have no problem... However, I usually kill my plants. Gardening is still so new to us.

Oh, you can also use lavender in your garden to keep pest away. :) We used it quite a bit this last summer to keep unwanted pest and critters away.

If your interested in learning more about the benefits of lavender essential oil or any other oil, leave a comment or send me a message. 💕

As always, thanks for reading.
Until next time....
FB_IMG_1500264744868.jpg

Sort:  

Don't worry about the lavender- it loves to be ignored. I planted it on a slope with just a bit of shade in the afternoon and it's thrived. 😊

@mysecondself01 thanks! I tried growing it last year. But I was still learning so much about the plant. I have been told and from what I have read, starting it from seed is really hard for a beginner. This year I plan on buying a plant from the local nursery.

Good info! Lavender is one of my faves! ♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01