Filling In Raised Garden Bed - Work In Progress

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

I've been toying with an idea to construct a raised garden bed for a long time. I wanted it to be almost completely home made.

Well, it is almost finished and today I started filling it with the material.

Yes, I will prepare a complete series of posts with the tutorial how the construction went. For this post I would like to show you some photos that I took this morning while filling the bed.


The bed is put together with two small Euro pallets for the back side and with pine logs for the front and sides:

The construction is 82 centimeters high and around one meter wide and deep. The logs have a diameter from 5 to 10 centimeters.


I started covering the inside of the walls with the polypropylene fabric:
IMG_20170701_110001.jpg

IMG_20170701_111118.jpg

Help me out with the English term for this white fabric, please. It is used to cover the earth right after you put the seeds into the ground. The same material is also used to cover the beds at the physiotherapists.


Then came the dry branches and assorted pieces of wood:
IMG_20170701_113158.jpg


The trees at our parking lot donated some low hanging branches to the project. I wanted to cut these branches anyway since they were in a way while parking our cars.
IMG_20170701_114702.jpg

Fresh branches cut to pieces and put into the bed:
IMG_20170701_121909.jpg


Next came the leftovers of the pot earth from previous year:
IMG_20170701_123302.jpg


This is how far my raised garden bed project came today. Tomorrow I will cover the earth will some fresh fern and let it rest a bit to settle down.


At the moment there are around 30 centimeters of material in the bed which gives 50 centimeters up to the edge. A lot of material to add. Fern, grass, compost, fresh earth ...

Sort:  

Not a fan of raised garden bed. But I do understand if you have limited space. This is one way to go.

Thanks. It is more a pet project. My father has a small garden and we are getting our fresh vegetables from him. This bed is for recreation :)

I'll upvote everyone tomorrow morning when my voting power regenerates

I have been having that probem too after HF19. Got to turn down my voting power %.

:) I feel like a jojo - jumping between 20 and 30% ...

Thank you. You are great!

Wow, it's really tall! Are you planting straight into it, once full? Or are you going to be composting in it?

Since I am a bit late for this season I will probably compost it and throw a handful of pumpkin seeds over it :)

And, it doesn't have to be full up to the edge.

Very true. It'll be great to grow potatoes in : )

It will. I am looking forward to grow some potatoes in it very much.

Very nice :)

Awesome tutorial and very rustic looking! Good luck on the pumpkins

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80