You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Glass gem corn.

in #gardening7 years ago

I would love to see the seed bank they have... I've only visited via youtube videos! :) I like Bakercreek, Sowtrueseed, and highmowing so far. I have a permaculture project going on here so I'll be sharing a lot more here on #Steemit as time goes on! (They say not to post really involved blogs untill you get established on the platform, so I am saving some of the best stuff for the near future so it gets more views and the information I have learned will benefit more people!



I'm guessing a lot of people have been growing food longer than I have at this point, but that should make some of my stuff pretty amusing to the more experienced growers! =) I have grown quite a selection of unusual varieties of fruits and veggies. Plus last year I got almost 70 chickens and four crazy Guinea Fowl... so that is always an adventure! (No I can't eat them. Although I have a few of my 30 roosters I've thought real hard on...) Lol!


Thank you for following my blog too!


Sort:  

I grew up in Sonoma County so up until a few years ago I went to the seed bank pretty often. I used to work for "keep it green" landscaping as a gardener. The boss and I would run in on our lunch and grab a few interesting packs of seeds. The building was a bank originally and it still has the vault. I'll to have to check out the you-tube vid... I need to get some chicken's myself one day. Those roosters can be mean bastards. Probably wouldn't mind eating one of those every now and then. Lol

Oh wow, I would be crazy if I could go there and get seeds so easily! Lol! So you've clearly been growing things for quite a while, as I suspected! I like what they are doing with collecting and preserving so many varieties which is SO important right now with all of the GMO 'games' going on. Even though those games are actually pretty serious!


I wanted Guinea Hens because of the crazy rise in tics and Lymes here in the N.E. I could not garden without getting bitten. Never used to be so many! I think they are being released... and also the natural predators of tics are being reduced. So after I knew I needed Guinea Hens, I agreed to maybe a few chickens for eggs and so forth... SMH. I didn't want to support the industry just indesciminantly slaughtering tons of baby boy chicks and being mean to the females for eggs either... So Idecided I would keep the boys... but I got way more than I expected... and made a bachelor flock because a homesteader in sweden said it can be done. It can, and mostly it works... but some have fought with eachother and needed to be separated...


I got attacked by the one rooster I really wanted (seriously, I was shaking because I really didn't expect it, and used to laugh at people afraid of roosters!) so we had to have a we throw down a few times( I didn't hurt him), but he's still my baby :D =)! He's pretty good now. Most of our boys don't mess with us so far, but the real test I think will be the next month or two, because they are pretty riled up with spring weather coming on. cringe I actually really love the boys but we'll see what happens... Haha! I was traumatized by watching relatives kill chickens the old fashioned way when I was little, so I would prefer not to have to eat them...

I've been gardening most of my life. My mom had me breaking up dirt clods as a baby lol. My used to raise chickens and pigeons. The pigeons were really cool. Very mild mannered compared to those A-hole roosters lol. He had a couple mean ones...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61006.67
ETH 2417.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61