You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: First Leaves of Spring: Apple Tree [Gardening]

in #gardening6 years ago

I’d never have the patients for something like this. How many years do you expect before it’s able to produce?

I’ve been tempted a couple of times to get an orange tree. Disease can be a bit of an issue down here and the large farmers get easily spooked causing government overreach.

Sort:  

Good question. I am not sure when they will produce. My grapevine is going on its third growing season and I have never seen fruit on it either. Hopefully I'll start seeing flowers and fruits on my fruit trees before my hair turns grey and falls out.

I don't know much about orange tree farms. I think I recall there being a disease that swept through over ten years ago, scaring most producers that they would lose all the best varieties. To put all the blame on backyard growers for spreading the disease seems unfair to me. Most backyard growers are not packing in hundreds and hundreds of trees of the same species, which isn't a very natural way to grow any tree. That is disaster waiting to happen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67211.91
ETH 2613.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68