The tomato transplant

in #gardening7 years ago

IMG_20180219_1210006.jpg

I didnt water the plants this morning because I had planned to transplant them. I found that its way easier to shake the soil loose from the roots, and its good for the roots to not be all cramped up in their previous shape - they grow better.

IMG_20180222_1232539.jpg

IMG_20180222_1235190.jpg

The soil being dry makes it easier to separate two plants growing together like these. Just gently massage the soil away

IMG_20180222_1259007.jpg

A trick I learned from a swedish gardener is to tilt your plant and kind of circle it around in the pot (if its very tall and lanky from not enough light) and cover it with soil. The part covered will grow roots and give you a sturty thick stem and good root system.

IMG_20180222_1756416.jpg

All done - I transplanted our sweetie tomatoes, sub arctic, sunchocola, black cherry and mountain merit. Our tiny tims will have to stay in their seed pots for now. They are quite small and I didnt want to put them in containers too big (some of the pots I transplanted to is a bit on the large side but I hope it will be ok) because if the plants root system isnt large enough the soil tends to end up too wet and soggy. The poor little plant cant drink it all.
I also transplanted our 3 water melons - though they dont like having their roots tampered with so I didnt massage them much at all. And 5 super chili hybrid peppers got new homes too.

I found that im so longing for summer, Its odd for me because winter is my favourite season - but its gotta be that the kitchen smelled of tomatoes all day

IMG_20170819_1623187.jpg

Sort:  

1st photo is just amazine. I like it so much...

It's right in front of you, right!? I agree.

😑😐🙂☺😊😁😃😆😆😆

Hi @Elfmyselfandi. I'm hosting a contest on my channel, and i'm hoping to get a few people to participate. If you're interested, I can give some details. Just let me know :)

Hi! Perhaps, what is the contest about? :)

So basically, i'm hosting a few contests trying to promote deep-thinking and creativity. Right now I have a contest where people answer the following, "If you won $5000 to backpack anywhere in the world for 2 weeks, where would you go and what would you do" The goal is to understand peoples passions and desires towards traveling to remote countries. If you're interested, just look for the "comments contest", on my channel. Thanks for your time.

Oh I see, and will I actually win $5000 if I win the contest? :)

I'm asking people to imagine, what they would do if they won $5000 to go on a vacation anywhere they want. The goal is to develop a deeper understanding of people's imagination. I'm not rich enough to offer $5000 yet, but the winner will be receiving 50% of the value generated on this post. I'm just trying to read some interesting responses :)

ah i see :) Thats a great thing, to better understand others :) Wish more ppl tried doing that, I think our world would look a hole lot different if that was the case.

Thank you for the post! I'm following you now in hopes to learn a lot more about gardening, farming, and permaculture.

Why did you choose those types of tomatoes? I didn't know there were different types, so I guess I have a lot to learn.

Oh thats great to hear! Im quite new at this but I will write about whatever I do know. I really think permaculture is the way to go, its a way of living with nature, in balance and yet getting an abundance back. Its win win all around!

We had the sweetie tomato because we wanted a small tomato to put in sallads, eat directly in the garden - they are about 2,5 cm in size. They were very delicious so this year we wanted to try some with a bit different flavour. We had the chocolate beauty bell pepper in our garden last year and it had a sweet smoky flavour too it, super good. So we thought we try the black cherry tomato - they are about the same size as the sweetie tomato but darker in colour and supposed to have a real good flavour. The sunchocola is very similar to the black cherry as i understand it - same size, darker colour but more like the bell pepper we had in flavour with the smokyness to it. The sub arctic is a bigger sized tomato - fills up my hand and we wanted them to make salsa, tomato sause etc since they are bigger it doesnt take as many. They were a nice flavour and the plants didnt grow too to tall. This year we decided to try the Mountain Merit, its slightly bigger in size than the sub arctic so we are excited to see how it is in flavour and yield. We got a lot of our Sub arctic tomatoes but lost a lot to end rot - im hoping this year that by putting them in the ground it will be easier to give them enough water and nutrition.
I hope that answers your question :) Feel free to ask whatever you want to know :)

Wow, that's a lot of thought put into tomatoes! I'll remember this thread when it's time to select my own. Are sweetie tomatoes like cherry tomatoes? They sound similar, so they may be the same thing, just called by a different name down here in Texas.

Its easy to get caught up, just wait and see:) But just knowing what you want to use them for narrows down what type you want . Yes the sweetie tomato is a cherry tomato, its just a veriety of cherry tomato (the black cherry and sunchocola is cherry tomatoes too but different in colour and flavor)

So much to learn! This is going to be an awesome adventure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62924.41
ETH 2436.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52