Thanksgiving weekend carrot harvest. Autumn garden update.

in #gardening7 years ago

No, Ed's not confused. In Canada Thanksgiving is this weekend, we're having company on Sunday for a turkey feast. But first there's still work to do in the garden.

This is Ben. He's a bit tired from all of the work, it's ok though-he earned 35 cents.

20171007_205553.jpg

The geese have mostly all flown south for the winter.

20171007_205506.jpg

I'm still hanging my laundry out to dry despite the low temperatures.

20171007_205332.jpg

Pretty much just carrots left.

20171007_125730.jpg

This spinach l planted last month will likely get snowed on before it produces anything.

20171007_205303.jpg

The zucchini has been killed off by frost.

20171007_205241.jpg

I won't be planting these silly carrots again. They could have been a different variety and kept growing down but no, they had to be a ball for some reason.

20171007_205659.jpg

An old door screen works great for hosing off the dirt.

20171007_205722.jpg

To the compost pile with a 5 gallon pail of tops.

20171007_205622.jpg

The biggest one! I thought about doing another size comparison post with this one, but I'm not ready to do nsfw...

20171007_205407.jpg

And fresh baby food. Melody turns 6 months old today!

20171007_205427.jpg

Now off to make pumpkin pancakes for supper!

DQmNeDLcbBrErmT33oNVbphqwjXgu4WkvijsNnAzrB8zBoS_1680x8400.png
#thealliance

DQmdMYYPi1ktuYQmZv3nw33rRkQcg5HCdvWTuGJxDd45bWV_1680x8400.png
#teamcanada

Is anyone else still growing anything out there?
Any interest in seeing the freaks of my garden or pumpkin pancakes?

Happy Thanksgiving from @edthecanadian 🇨🇦

Sort:  

sneaky-ninja-two-swords-story-sneaky-ninja-thealliance-steem-steemitcomics small.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack!!
You have been defended with a 47.62 % upvote!
To help keep my Jōki (蒸気) power strong I rely on the townspeople of Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア).
I was summoned by: @edthecanadian.
I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh

what a fantastic post my friend @edthecanadian your garden looks like mine at the moment. Love the carrots. Happy Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving! Turkey Feast? Yeah! Here (Nicaragua) no turkey. way too expensive! Almost $150 for a frozen imported bird! We are having BBQ ribs instead...

BBQ sounds good to me! Have a wonderfull meal ceci.

Holy crap that is expensive for a turkey. 🦃 Do you know why? Just not common or some other reason?

They import them from Butterball in the US. Not only do we get hit with the transportation, we also get charged duty and taxes...

Thanks for the reply. I find this interesting. Why is no one raising them locally? Are they just such a specialty item that there is no demand for them?

No one is raising them here. I am waiting for papers that will allow me to either import eggs for hatching or live chicks. I think there would be a demand if they weren't so outrageously expensive. Ours would be better, not frozen and organically raised.

I'm glad you are at least looking into it. Seems like it might be an opportunity if everything pans out with the government.

I like them geese!
Happy thanksgiving

Thanks man, have a great weekend!

Happy thanksgiving Ed!!

I hope you have a lovely weekend jamisa ☺

I think the small carrots are oxheart. We grow them in Arkansas based on rocky soil. They are the sweetest carrot I have ever grown. In our climate we can keep them in most of the winter provided you are willing to cover them with plastic a few times. Looking good and thanks for sharing!

Nice haul man, looks like your quite the impressive gardener. I'll be watching for tips.

Wow! I have never seen ball carrots before!

Yeah, that's why I bought the seeds a few years ago. I'm pretty sure this was the end of them. Thanks for stopping in.

Well, it looks like your carrots turned out alright, at least the ones that didn't turn into balls. Happy Thanksgiving to you and the family.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61904.94
ETH 2583.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57