My Own Potato Tire: Applying Steem Ideas into Real World Applications

in #gardening7 years ago

The Steemit-Inspired Potato Tire


A few days ago, I read a post from @tee-em about using old tires as a way to grow potatoes. I had been wanting to try to grow potatoes using a tower method, and when I read this post I was inspired to give it a try. Seeing as one of our old roommates had left a tire for us to take care of, I thought it would be a great way to use it.

I layered the bottom of the tire with straw, as a way to keep the soil from spilling out the bottom. Then, I filled the tire half-way using some Permagreen Mushroom compost, which can be purchased from Home Depot for about $4 a bag. I layered 6 seed potatoes on top, and then filled the remaining half of the tire with the rest of the compost.

I have never grown potatoes before, but had purchased some seed potatoes a few weeks ago and was intending to purchase the materials to build a potato growing box. What a joy to learn that I already had the materials necessary, and didn't need to go out and purchase any additional materials. I only have one spare tire, so I will need to drop by a junkyard or tire place some time to pick a few more up.

Thanks again @tee-em for sharing the idea. Here's hoping I get a bountiful potato harvest! I'll make any Steemers in the Denver area some epic breakfast hash in a few months time :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61