Accidental Radish Experiment

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Today I decided to plant an entire plot of Radishes in my front yard, with the intent on harvesting prior to planting my summer crop. The first half of the plot I seeded a champion radish variety, and the other half I went with a cherry radish. After planting the champion radishes, I looked at the packet and noticed something out of the normal:

Yep, this radish seed was packaged for the 1998 season. I remembered that these seeds were given to me by an older nurse I used to work with, and I'm now concluding that they had been sitting in her garage for the last 20 years prior to giving them to me.

The cherry radish seeds I planted were packed for the 2017 season, which will make this particular plot of radishes an interesting experiment, as it will be fun to compare the two. Here's a shot of the plot:

I'm hoping to experiment with pickling the radish, and also making radish relish from it. I have a few value-added products in mind I'd like to experiment with this year. Seeing how fast and easy radish grow, I feel this is a good crop to start with.

Sort:  

Excellent post dear friend @dreamlucid are a lover of agriculture, I like to plant mainly vegetables, such as manioc, beet, carrot, pumpkin, although I must admit that I never cross with some seeds with so much antiquity, .
Thank you very much for sharing these post of agriculture

You never know. 20-year-old seeds may well germinate and produce a crop!

Yeah, I actually already planted some in the backyard and they're sprouting on sporadically. I planted the last week of March, so perhaps this crop will be more successful!

I'm curious to see how the radish pickling project comes along. I don't like pickled beets, but radishes are a completely different kind of flavor.

Are you growing green beans at all? If you like pickling different vegetables, you must try making dilly beans.

I am growing snap peas, no green beans as of yet. I will try to grow some up the corn we will be planting soon.

It will be interesting to see if they germinate. You now have a new follower so I can see your gardening adventures as well.

Great! Thanks for following!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.32 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 04 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63672.27
ETH 3126.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87