EASY WAY TO PROPAGATE LAVENDER

in #gardening6 years ago


Lavender is one of my favorite herbs and fragrances. About 5 years ago I decided to plant lavender so I purchased a few 2 year old plants from the local greenhouses. Then I decided I should be able to propagate some so I would have lots to grow. I snipped several clippings, about 2 or 3 inches, from the ones I had purchased and dipped them in a cup of strong cooled steeped organic chamomile tea as a root stimulant, then planted the clippings directly into a pot of soil. It worked great, I actually did the same thing with several cuttings without dipping them and majority of those died. That is a great tip to remember for a great natural root starter.

)
Some of the clippings from the lavender plants


A couple of the plants I had purchased, they are looking abit thin as I had taken lots of slips from them.

When I first planted the clippings after they had some strong root growth. It took about 6 weeks.


5 years later and this was my reward. I hope they had a good winter and I will see and smell this beautiful sight again soon. I am happy I was able to find these pictures because I never remember to take pictures. I am hoping to take more pictures on a regular basis now.
I will do a post soon on some of the things I have done with the lavender.

Sort:  

Wow!!! What wonderful lavenders..you are truly amazing! You're pics are just super! Keep it going! Cheers!

Thank you for your kinds words. I do love lavender.

Have you tried using the chamomile with other plants? I'm wondering if it would work with trying to root camellia sinensis. I've tried 17 cuttings so far and not a single one has rooted.

I have used the chamomile tea on several other herbs, basil, parsley, thyme and oregano. I was very successful with all of them, I didn't have quite as many slips as with the lavender but they worked fine. I'm not familiar with camellia sinensis. I find the tea worked best with plants that have a woody like stem, if that makes sense. I have tried it with some haskap clippings and had no success but I haven't been able to propagate any yet from the haskap, I've tried a few different ways. I plan to attempt to experiment on them again soon as I see they are beginning to bud now.

camellia sinensis is THE plant they make tea from in China. It has been grown here in the US for a long time now, but it has only recently started getting popular here. They have some of the most beautiful blooms in all shades from pure white of almost every shade of pink. They take the new leaves from the white flowered plants, pinch them off then ferment them. The fermentation process determines whether they are making black, green or oolong tea. I want to share them with others but so far, no luck with root them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55