You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Home growing capsicums

in #gardening8 years ago

Great read. Happy to see someone from Finland joining Steemit, I used to live in Helsinki and loved every minute of it. Do you have a sauna? I would love to see a post on that. Also, so few people are aware of Santa's village over there and I am sure a post on that will get you more upvotes =)

Sort:  

I don't actually have a sauna in my apartment, although it's very common to have one even if the apartment is quite small. I live in a rowhouse with 8 apartments, and there's a communal sauna (another very common setup). Since there's only a couple other people using the sauna, we don't have a reservation system in place nor do we pay for using it, but other places have either a paper on the notice board or an online system for reserving shifts, and in those cases it's usually charged per use once a month. My parents live on a small farm and have a smoke sauna, which is very traditional. I've been to saunas heated with wood and electricity, small private saunas and large communal ones, plus a tent and a trailer, both made sauna. I could write up something about the sauna culture and/or different types of sauna you can find.

I haven't been to Santa's village, although I drove past it on a trip to Lapland a couple years ago. It's pretty much a full day's drive from where I live, but you could take the train or a plane to get there faster. My wife wants to visit the village, so we might very well go once our kid is a bit older and can enjoy it as well. I could also write a post on the origins of Christmas (or, to be precise, Yule), since that might be more informative and I could do that without making the trip up north.

Our sauna while I lived there had an electric faux-stone design that we used. It was quite a refreshing thing and we got into the habit of using it frequently while we were there.

We visited the Santa Claus village on our way up to see the Nordic Circle which was cool. They had a knife shop there (not sure if it is still around) that was ridiculously sharp. Both my grandpa and my brother cut themselves after the store keeper got through warning us all haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44