You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Common Gardening Mistakes - Landscape Fabric!

in #gardening7 years ago

Thanks for the info.

I'm trying to avoid using fabric. I use garden plastic in my micro-gardens, but I still have a pesky plant/weed that still finds its way to the openings. But, in other places, it has kept away form of the weed growth.

And then I have mimosa tree/weed all of the place. I have dug down to remove them and sprayed them and they still come back. It almost makes me want to nuke the entire yard to get rid of the pest.

Sort:  

I put my garden beds in with amended, double dug soil and then lots of mulch. At least 4 to 5 inches. I go around every few days and pluck the few weeds I see. Since I don't walk on the soil, weeds are easy to pull.

I think this fall I will dig up more of the bed. It seems that the previous owners put down a lot of rocks underneath the soil and there is some unevenly poured cement at the edge of the garden area. So, who knows what surprises I will find. But, that's been the case all around the yard. I was told by the neighbor that previous owners would get tired of an indoor plant and just throw it in the backyard, which is why I have ferns and other stuff in the area I refer to as "the jungle".

Garden plastic? Do you mean plastic edging?

Is there one big Mimosa? It is probably sending up suckers, in which case you will never get rid of them.

I was told there was a large tree at one point. I don't know where it was. There are small trees around the neighborhood, but not near my house. The seeds get everywhere. I have them growing in soil I bought from the store.

No, I'm talking about plastic you put on a vegetable garden.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70845.83
ETH 3807.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42