Garden Update - Upper Garden

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

As promised, a short update on the upper garden. On the bottom edge, the heirloom tomatoes are coming along nicely with the hot humid weather that tomatoes love.

Refer to my earlier posts for the varieties that I planted. I am looking forward to ripe tomatoes next month, as they are loaded with green ones now.

Next are the onions, some standard yellow Stuttgart and also Sweet Spanish. Both store well.

The peppers which, include snack, Bell, and Jalapeño. Peppers also have been thriving in this weather. I have picked a few so far with many more to come.

Next are Zucchini, yellow squash, and cucumbers, all of which I have been picking the last few weeks.

I also have a few slender green beans, and a row of Indian corn. The beans have also just started producing and are delicious.

On the top of the garden, you can see the pole beans, which were planted late as to stagger them with the first batch of beans. They are growing nicely and should be ready in September.

Finally are the Sunflowers, which have turned into a challenge for me to grow since the birds and or woodchucks either eat the seeds or the plants. So this year I have netting over them until they reach a foot or more.

As you can see in some of the photos, I try to mulch between the plants. Normally I use grass clippings which work well to keep down weeds and retain water. In the fall, it is all tilled into the soil along with chopped leaves that I collect from the yard.

Thanks for reading and stay tuned.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Congratulations @dansgardening! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 40 posts. Your next target is to reach 50 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

hello!

I enjoyed the tour or your garden, your squash plants look so healthy! maybe you could help me out, mine are healthy and big... but every year they leaves turn yellow, and never stay green... I don't know what im doing wrong!

also, check out one of my latest posts, I did the same thing, a tour of my garden and will be doing an update at the end of august!

thanks!

Thanks for your comment. Sometimes squash and cucumbers can get blight, similar to tomatoes, so that could be the problem or maybe too much water.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69