The Winter Where What and Why in the Veggie Patch...

in #gardening7 years ago

It's winter here in Australia and it's a time that I've always struggled with in the Veggie Patch.

winter01.JPG

The frosts have been heavy however the rain is no where to be seen. Despite how cold it is the Sun comes out and spending time in the garden isn't too bad. So it's time to clear out the spring and summer crops that have finished and make room for some new winter crops. Now, usually I kind of give up on the path in winter and wait until the spring weather starts to appear before getting motivated enough to get out and plant up the whole patch. So I'm not very experienced when it comes to winter crops and am pretty much making it up as I go.

winter02.png

From this patch I removed the old tomato and capsicum plants that were left over from summer, as well as a massive globe artichoke that was growing at the end of the patch. I had planted turmeric in this patch which had died off and i assumed it had gone rotten in the ground and didn't do anything. I was very surprised to dig up massive turmeric bunches. No idea what to do with all that turmeric now. But it was the sweet potato that was the real challenge to clean up. It had popped up from where it had grown previously and I attempted to pull it out for ages before I gave in and let it grow. There could have been potatoes anywhere so I turned the whole patch searching for them. This is what I got...

winter07.png

My wife planted a heap of peas at a time I didn't think she should have, but they all grew and I thought they wouldn't do very well if I didn't thin them out, which I never got around to doing. Much to my surprise they have taken off and we are getting bucket loads of peas off them which the boys love. So I'm planting another lot to see how they go and to try and find the optimal time of year to plant them in this area.

winter05.png

I also raided my seed collection to see what old bean seeds I had to plant a green manure crop in a bed I was resting. I spaced out some spring onion, spread some flower seed and did a general clean up and of course had help along the way.

winter06.png

He has developed a fascination with seeds and planting them and I'm finding things popping up all over the place. I'm looking forward to showing him what grows from the seeds he's planting and I think he is old enough now to get it.

If you're interested in what else I got up to or more detail on what I've written above please check out my video...

Sort:  

Well done. That is a lot if activity for winter. We pretty much shut down except for winter cabbage and brussels.

I haven't put any cabbage in. I might have to. Thank you.

I think I would dehydrate the turmeric, perhaps tincture some of it to. Fresh peas would be so good right now.

Thank you for the advice. I'll be honest, I had to look up what tincture was, but now that I know I will have to try it. Very interesting.

I have made them with powdered turmeric, but I like fresh.

Congratulations @dannybarnes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

nice work from both i see the love of father and son

In this lobby, will there be T.P.? For my bunghole?

Thank you @shahzaib :-)

Great to see Danny. Post rewards suddenly looking great too ;)

Thanks again @andyturner! Did you submit me again or will this happen all the time now? I really need to work out how it works.

No, it's fall out from last time. It helped to get you noticed by people with valuable voting power. I suspect that because your content is original for Steemit (the videos may not be, but the written-up parts are), they're happy to continue supporting you. Nice result - hope it carries on!

Great post, I have also jsut started a blog on growing my own food in South Africa which is a similar climate to Australia. I will definately follow you for hints and tips thanks for your efforts !

Thanks Richard. Following you too and looking forward to learning off each other.

I like your how organized your garden is. For the turmeric you can dry it and grind it into powder and put the powder into jars. Following you to see how well your newly planted seeds will flourish. Thank you for sharing :)

Thanks for the tip. I will definately try that. Thanks for the follow, keep an eye out for an update ;-)

Cool did not realize you could plant all that in winter.

Winter is here ..check out my blog ..trust me you wont be dissapointed

I had the same toy!!! Missing that badly... Nice post!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59274.98
ETH 2600.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44