Saving a slippery slope on the garden path...

in #gardening7 years ago

Throughout my garden I have a little network of paths to move about the different areas. My yard soaps upwards at the back which means any paths leading to the back of the yard have quite the incline. One path through the middle that gets used the most started to become hazardous and slippery after rain. It was time to do something about it...

IMG_20170624_1131332.jpg

I wanted to build easy, cheap steps to solve this problem using materials I already had. I also had to be mindful of the shallow irrigation running up the middle of the path. So I gathered all the treated pine sleepers I had laying around.

IMG_20170624_1308522.jpg

After cutting everything to size I set to work digging and constructing the steps.

IMG_20170624_1553432.jpg

It took all weekend but the steps turned out great. Using rocks and pavers that were also laying around we made a really nice, simple set of steps for very little money (about $10 worth of brackets and screws). To see exactly how I did it, check out the video below...

Sort:  

Congratulations @dannybarnes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Good job. Great video. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks Sam :-)

Brilliant. Just about to visit a step project myself. Love the video production too.

Nice surprise there Danny. I submitted you to Curie and look what happened to your post ;) Many congratulations. Stick with Steemit and keep making 'unique & original' content & you'll go far mate.

Wow, that was a surprise. Thank you so much @andyturner! I definitely will. Thanks for your support and encouragement :-)

haha, well you're on more there than I've made in my entire history - lol. But, I think the point is that things such as the Curie Guild do a lot here to get people going - to encourage them to keep at it. Minnow Support Project is another. Both are well looking at, if you can devote a little time, and both have the ability to reward both you and those that you 'promote'. Ciao!

I'll definately check them out and hopefully I can return the favour ;-) Thanks again.

Wonderful photos, truely wish I could also visit this mysterious place and escape from the daily struggle and worries. Hmm... @dannybarnes

Congratulations @dannybarnes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @dannybarnes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow good job Danny :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89