How Do The White Ones Taste?

in #gardening7 years ago

I have a RAINBOW of colors in my carrot harvest this year. When this picture was posted on social media, one of the first questions was "How do the white ones taste?".

In order to answer this question and have a little fun I decided to do a live show and eat carrots and describe the flavor. The live show was a disaster due to horrible internet speeds, but we still had fun.

Sort:  

O my goodness! Those are beautiful! Carrots are a real challenge here, you would think they would be easy but the slug population here and their resiliency is astounding and they always mow my carrots down before they can get far. I still keep trying though!

Have you tried the beer traps for slugs?

Yep, that is the first one everyone mentions but they simply do not work here. We get up to 160" of rain here so such methods are useless. Some things are helpful like eggshells, coffee grounds, and copper, but a good amount of the time, these to not phase these mutant rain forest slugs! haha! Hoping that now we have chickens, we can keep the slug population down. Ducks are not an option for us at this time, but we may consider those down the road.

I do vote for ducks whenever you can get them. They are WAY better at getting the slugs than chickens in my experience. Plus the chickens spend a lot of time eating your crops whereas ducks don't so much.

Who knew there were that many carrot colors available.

These all came from a "rainbow pack". I really like the red ones!

Thank you! What do you have growing?

Thank you for the ReSteem @raincountry !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60632.49
ETH 2366.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56