Some uses for coffee grounds in the garden [Gardening]

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

20180402_091751.png

Lately is has been a mixture of cold, wet, and sunny days now that Spring has finally arrived. Saturday was so nice and sunny out, I decided to do some work out in the garden. Nearly every morning I go out in the #yard, literally looking for trouble: a knocked over pot, a tender #sprout eaten by a #slug, a flower being attacked by aphids, or a #weed trying to outgrow one of my bonsai trees in the same pot.

In my cover photo, I found this mysterious weed growing in the center of our back lawn. Even though it had been disguising itself within the grass, I could tell by the wild growth the shoelace shaped leaves that it was not grass. I gave the leaves a little nibble, and it tasted a bit like #onion to me. So I dug it up, and sure enough it had little white #bulbs at the bottom, smaller than my fingertips. They bulbs grown deep into the #clay soil of the lawn; about 4 inches down. Had they planted themselves there from the wind? Had I dropped some seeds here this past year. I'm not sure. The only thing I was sure of was that I wanted to keep them, but they would have to be moved. So I dug them out, and replanted beside the lawn, and gave them some moist fluffy #soil to help the roots settle in.

This weekend, I had also had a bag of garden #grounds (#coffee), which I wanted to spread out into all of the various #planting zones of my garden.

20180402_091720.jpg

The grow bags had started #sprouting little #arugula veggies. Yes, I sowed those seeds here less than a week ago. Either the slugs are too busy getting wasted on the #beer I have been feeding them, or the coffee grounds seem to be offering a small bit of protection in this area. Whatever factors are happening back in my yard, it's working in my favor here.

The large #brussels sprouts stalks in this bag are also helping to hold the soil in tact, to prevent erosion, and holding open some air spaces for new healthy roots. As soon as the #brussels-sprouts flower and form seeds, I'll be there to capture them. If I get a couple volunteers that grow here again, that would get great.

20180331_141504.jpg

Most of the sprouts are surviving the cold, wet temperatures, and a forest of slugs.

To get the coffee grounds to dust the surface evenly in a thin layer, I use a colander (like one used for straining spaghetti noodles). Just tap the side of the filled colander, and it instantly provides a soft, even layer of coffee grounds over a wide area.

20180331_141458.jpg

Another nice benefit of applying the coffee grounds, the #squirrel has stopped digging through the grow bins as much as it was doing last week.

This year I allowed clover to grow in my grow bags as a #green #mulch so I could experiment with the chop and drop method of turning the living mulch into a green manure to feed the soil. The squirrel hated that idea, and had been on a mission to scatter as much of the chopped clover as possible. Maybe squirrels don't like clover because it #roots everywhere and makes the soil harder to dig in. I have no idea.

All I know is the coffee grounds have had an immediate benefit in the garden. Not so much as a nutrient to the plants yet, but primarily as a barrier of protection against squirrels and slugs.

There are also a few bare plots of soil I went around on with the coffee grounds. I'll be growing #corn, #pumpkin, #beans, #turnips, #cabbage, and #carrots on those areas, so hopefully it will make the soil a bit more #fertile in the coming weeks. I'm not sure what affect the wood chips these past two years have had on the formerly barren soil. There are definitely some pocket areas of #mushrooms and #fungal activity deep in the soil I have found.

20180327_093428.jpg

As you can see, I've been busy sprouting seeds indoors over the long winter. The #tomatoes are looking the most ready to be planted, but they will have to wait another month or so to be hardened off.

20180327_093438.jpg

Some of these plants take forever to get larger because I am not giving them very much root space in those tiny little pots.

The pot with the thick growth is all wild arugula. They seem to grow better in a dense pattern like this because the stems are so weak and fragile. This way, they can help hold up the other #stems so they can reach up taller towards the light.

As you can see, I don't much heed the suggestions on the seed instructions on seed spacing. Whatever works, that's how I roll.


Bonus Photo:

20180331_183445.jpg

Need to make a #humidity dome for a new plant that needs the extra tender loving care? You can use any clear cup, and pair it with a simple yogurt cup like this one. The lip on the rim is just wide enough to rest on top. My little jiffy peat cup is actually suspended inside the bottom cup, so water can fully drain through, and the humidity can fill both the top and bottom areas. While the plastic and #sunlight has a greenhouse warming affect, the water in the air actually has a slight #cooling affect according to what my friend @steamdan has shared with me on discord (visit #truthville https://discord.gg/c5gB7P3). It is not a perfect design, but its a start. I'm down to my last two cilantro sprouts growing in there, and it's not looking promising yet. I might need to wait until #summer when the air temperature is more warm all the time.

The #lavender I had growing in a folding plastic pie-slice container, however is growing marvelously in a humidity dome #micro-climate, and it's already adjusting to outdoor temperatures while inside the plastic container. I should have a nice cluster of lavender to #transplant into the garden in a month or so.


Thank you for checking out my post. I am an amateur #bonsai hobbyist, #gardener, and #artist, and I love trying out new things, making errors, and breaking a few traditional rules to learn how to do things in a way that works for me.
Unless sources are cited, all images and information within this post are original works of my own. You are free to use my images so long as you provide a link to this post and credit back to me @creativetruth.
Support my friendliest followers in the comments. By exploring their profiles, I believe you will find some surprisingly excellent photos and information about plants and trees that I think you will also enjoy.
Chat with me and fellow gardeners, bonsai experts, and supporters in my #Truthville channel on discord. https://discord.gg/c5gB7P3

20180328_094831.jpg

Have an excellent week!
@creativetruth

CreativeTruth.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! You have received a Free Raffle Ticket for the next Sotall Seed or SBD Raffle. Your ticket number is shown below. There is nothing for you to do or pay (unless you want more chances to win). We have members who donate tickets to help others, plus we purchase tickets from the upvotes all the raffle posts make. You can find additional details at https://steemit.com/raffle/@sotall/sotall-raffle-1-1st-place-10-sbd-2nd-place-heirloom-seed-vault

Also, your newly found friend probably is a wild onion or garlic. I have both growing in my yard and they taste very similar to each other. It is one of the many wild plants I just let it grow wherever it finds a home in the front yard. They can be uses in dishes just like any regular onion or garlic, but they will never get as big as what you buy in the store. I tend to just chop off the bulb and toss them whole into whatever I am cooking. You can eat the stem part also, but I don't like them as much as a regular green onion stem.

Thank you. I feel like I won a little raffle in my garden. Free prize.

Good post friends are really mysterious grass ..
I also have a new friend post please support her

hopefully what you plant in the garden good luck, I am very happy with your workers and I saka.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 14 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 8 SBD worth and should receive 85 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Look at all your soldiers lined up!

Every window sill facing south in my house is filled too. Amazing how quick my grow tent filled up and the overflow is now taking over the rest of the house

I’ve only ever heard of people saving and using egg shells. I never knew of coffee grounds having benefit as well.

You have an excellent week as well. May those Brussel sprouts grow and be mighty tasty!

I have found these same tiny onions as well! They were growing along the side of a bike trail I frequent. I took some home and planted a few indoors and the rest in the yard. Check out my post about them! What could they be?

https://steemit.com/garden/@proto26/trees-wild-bulbs-and-a-new-pest

Send 0.01 SBD bids to @minnowbacker with the link to post you would like voted on as the memo! You will receive a 2x profit.

Send 0.01 SBD/STEEM bids to @minnowbacker with the link to post you would like voted on as the memo! You will receive a guranteed profit.

Friend @creativetruth the used coffee serves as a repellent for squirrels? is that in my cacao plantation the squirrels are a real problem!

It kept them away for a few days. After the rain, it didn't have much affect as a barrier, because it dissolved into the soil and the scent disappeared.

The only way I know how to keep the squirrels out all season is with fencing/screens, or almost daily application of odors to the soil and plants. It isn't very conventional. I think I'm going to try laying a screen over my soil for a while, like I do to protect my apple trees.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60856.28
ETH 2937.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44