Round 2: Identify This Plant [Gardening]

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

20180321_113812.jpg

Does anybody know what this plant is?

New clues:

20180321_113751.jpg

In my last Identify This Plant, we learned some other key traits.

Key Characteristics:

20180321_114147.jpg

Here I took a photo and enhanced the leaf colors slightly.

20180321_113740.jpg

The red flower stem looks a lot like rhubarb.

Nobody has correctly identified this plant yet.

Some people guessed that my mystery plant was a #hyacinth. Hyacinth is a very lovely flower, but I don't think that is what this is. We grow hyacinth in our #garden, and it looks more like this...

20180320_135015.jpg

and this...

20180320_135046.jpg

Very different.

I tried searching google as suggested to me, but I can't find anything that matches the plant I am trying to identify. There are so many species of flowering plants, it is hard to sort through them all. The closest looking plant I can find is begonia, but I don't think this is correct either.

If there is a wise gardening guru out there on steemit who can identify this plant, please tag them in the comments. I would love anyone knowledgeable to leave a comment for me below with their guess. No upvote expected, though you might get one for me as thanks.

20180320_113246.jpg

I really want to know if this #mystery plant is #poisonous or not. Sometimes the red stem is nature's clue that the plant might be #toxic.

Sort:  

Hey there! When I first saw its leaves I also thought that it could be at least a family of the Begoniaceae, the big hard leaves and stems suggest indeed that they could be related. But I also googled them in an effort to help you, and atm I haven't found the exact one. I did find though another species looking a lot alike yours: an african violet. At first glance I thought I had found it, but taking a better look at the center of the flowers and I noticed the scalloped leaves had a slightly different size. Same with its flowers, and trichomes all over the stems. What do you think? Maybe they're related as well? I'll leave here a couple of pics and their links. I'll try to google a little more in a while. Take care, cheers!

av.jpg
Source

Kaliza.JPG "Kaliza" Source

img_1_32_2631.jpg
Source

Getting closer. Thanks.

Very beautiful flower but i dont know what it is name but i think that flower not contain toxic, thanks for your sharing to us, i like it and have upvote and resteem your post to more than 1520 my follower, success always for you brother @thetruth

Small but nice, it look luxury in bloom.

very beautiful flowers and beautiful friends

It is beautiful flower

awesome and beautiful photografhy of gardening nice post bro 😊

Nice flowers. i like this your post. thanks for sharing ..

the garden is full of flowers

This great gardening, i like this flowers. keep it up

I am Still Asking from my teachers and field officers but still I can not get a correct answar but when ever i will know about this i will tell you because i did not know about this flowers
But its clear that it is no #hyacinth because it is to much different from this flowers characteristic

That's awesome. Certainly makes a fun conversation starter, doesn't it? I have been learning a lot about my friends when I ask them gardening type questions.

Thanks I also learn a lot from you because i love Gardening keep sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.72
ETH 2683.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80