Planting the First Seeds of 2018 [Gardening]

in #gardening7 years ago

seeds-1302793_960_720.jpg
Source

Let's plant some seeds!

I decided to start planting some seeds indoors, today. Things got a bit too stressful for me this morning, and I just couldn't shake loose. I thought this would be a good activity to help me wind down after a long day on the job.

Pictured below...

20180110_233812.jpg

I have planted the following seeds:

Black #cumin

bridesmaids-in-green-460360_960_720.jpg
Source

#cilantro also known as #coriander

herbs-980513_960_720.jpg
Source

#anise

20150725_161208.jpg

#pumpkin

pumpkin-1678871_960_720.jpg
Source

ancho poblano #peppers

pepperoni-1539472_960_720.jpg
Source

And also in a different container I planted this...

20180111_001317.jpg

Yes, I know it looks like chocolate cake, but I swear it isn't.

The container is a re-purposed plastic container used for selling a slice of cake, but I cleaned it out first, so I could grow...

lady #lavender

texture-2151543_960_720.jpg
Source

The #soil mixture I use is #coconutfiber, also called #coir or #cocofiber. I like using coco fiber because it is soft, retains water like a sponge, and it is very sterile (no molds or bacteria). Also it is organic matter, and it will break down over time. Sometimes specialty stores (farm/livestock feed store, aquaponics) will sell it, and it comes in a block form, and some retailers will have it loose in a bag sold as a soil. Just add water, and it becomes soft enough to use. I don't recommend making your own from fresh coconuts.

koh-samui-2507059_960_720.jpg
Source

Cheaper soil mixtures are of mud/dirt/peat soil mixes, and tend to cake-up and create a wet messy mat of soil that air can't penetrate through. Wet soils with stagnant water and poor airflow breeds fungus, moss, and bad bacteria, which leads to stunted, diseased plants that will not grow well.

seaweed-691708_960_720.jpg
Source

A soft fibrous soil does something incredible that really helps plants to grow.

gardening-690940_960_720.jpg
Source

A better soil made of fibers/pumice/vermiculite, on the other hand allows airflow to come into contact with moisture-wicking surfaces. This contact between air and water causes water to evaporate into a vapor to increases the humidity of the little air pockets inside the soil. A soil with humid air pockets will keep seed surfaces and tiny roots hairs moisturized with water for the young plant to drink.

appetite-1239265_960_720.jpg
Source

This is the shelf I grow my seeds on.

20180110_233909.jpg

To the left is two lamps set to a timer. The lights will flick on in the morning, and they will also flick off in the evening. To the right, off camera is my window, which adds some natural sunlight. As soon as the seeds start sprouting, lots of strong light is going to be the primary element that give these plants the charge they need to grow big and healthy.


Thanks for checking out my post. I feel better already having done something I enjoy to prepare for my future garden. Let me know if you have any comments to share.

20150718_132251.jpg
#sunflower

Sort:  

seeds all the root of all trees...because without seeds no can trees be created.vegatble is good
i like it.
thanks for sharing
carry on dear

Thank you for the kind comment.

most welcome

Very good and nice gardening my friend...
Carry on your activity ...And this flower is very nice..

Keren mas..
Upvote balik ya mas

Theres something very spiritual that occurs when man connects with nature through the cultivation of his garden. Your not just feeding your body, but you are feeding your soul through gardening. Mother earth is capable of sustaining you, and some how triggers your reward circuits when you spend time with her through gardening.

Very true for me. I do not have any children, so mother nature lets me adopt hers, and it renews me. Thanks for sharing your insight.

Thanks for sharing this lovely post.
I wish to do gardening in 2018. I have plans on growing my own organic vegetable garden in my backyard and flowers in the front-yard. Planting flowers is easy, but I have never planted vegetables or fruits ever in my life. I wish I get good luck in gardening.
Wishing you a new year of happy gardening too :)

Hope you get a good start. Flowers help the veggies grow into maturity. Especially sunflowers! Those flowers are ladybug magnets, so they really help with the aphid problem.

wow... I didn't know that. Thanks for this great tip. Now, I ll plant sunflowers as well.

Can you please suggest me some beautiful flowering plants that bear flowers throughout the year ???
I planted daffodils because I just love their beauty and fragrance which is refreshing and breathtaking, but they give flowers only for a few months every year. Today I brought gladioli , I love there glamorous beauty , but they also flower for a few months every year.
Please suggest me some flowering plants that bear beautiful flowers throughout the year and look stunning during all 12 months of the year.
Thank you in advance.

You bet.

Most of the flowers that bloom all summer will be great for attracting pollinating insects.

00S7273.jpg

My favorite bloomer for the whole year is Alyssum. Most of the year it will have more flowers than leaves. Every garden store sells it cheap. I wouldn't bother with seeds. The live plants are so inexpensive, and they suffer almost no transplant shock. This year mine seem to be overwintering too, so I should have more in the spring. Normally they are white, but they can come in a mix with pretty purple and pink too. I don't think they are invasive, so you don't have to worry about them.

dianthus-n13.jpg

Dianthus is the top flower to get if you like pinks. Another one I wouldn't grow from seed. It is a carnation that has a variety of dazzling shapes and designs on the flowers. There are probably dozens of varieties to choose from at the garden store, and each store will probably carry different varieties than the other stores. I bought one called "Raspberry Parfait" to pay my respects after Prince passed away. These plants might not last beyond winter and probably won't reseed, but should have showy flowers for most of the summer.

lanceleavedcoreopsis.jpg

Coreopsis or Tickseed is one that can be grown from seed cheaply, or you can get it live. It looks like a small sunflower or daisy, and there are a few different patterns and colors of flowers to choose from, even a rare pastel variety is sold online. I researched these years ago, because I wanted a flower that grows well around the base of a tree to shade out grass. It is very cold hardy, and will self-seed, and comes back every year. Don't have to worry about invasive root systems, it stays somewhat contained.

20170726_091619.jpg
Tigrinum Splendens

Those are my top favorites. I'm also a sucker for Tiger Lilies, my favorite flower. They only bloom for a few weeks though, but when they do everyone takes notice. Bulb flowers sometimes don't bloom the first season. They will multiply year after year though.

Thank you so much for a detailed reply. I think I will grow Alyssum, because they bear flowers throughout the year. :)
Thanks a lot.
Wishing you all the best.
Aisha

Gardening is my favorite hobby.thanks your this post inspireing me...

awesome """"..I really appreciate to see it ...This flowers is """""very nice .''''''

I wish you will success your plan...Best of luck..✌✌✌😊😊😊

Your photos are very amazing.i like it so much.
I have exprience about Seeds culture.I research about it.I interested of your work.@creativetruth.
Thank you very much.

Thanks for this...this is nice garden..i flowing to you...
carry on dear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87