Hibiscus - Rose Mellow: A Stunning Tropical Flower

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

This perennial herbaceous shrub with its showy flowers is part of the Malvaceae family. You can find them in the subtropical and tropical areas all over the world. It is the national flower of Haiti, Malaysia and South Korea, the red hibiscus is used in Hindu worship, and the women in Hawaii wear it as a symbol of their relationship status (behind the right ear they are single and ready for a relationship, behind the left ear they are either married or in a relationship).

The hibiscus is a very versatile and a hardy plant with huge colourful (yellow, orange, red, pink, peach, white and multi coloured) flowers which blooms all year round. You can plant them in the garden, as a creepy, in pots or even in hanging pots. They thrive in warmer climates, full sun and well-drained soil.

Not only do these stunning sweet-smelling flowers beautify your garden but it also attracts butterflies, bees and hummingbirds. There are over 200 species of which some grow wild in forests, along rivers and in thickets. The flower symbolize delicate beauty and in Korea it is the symbol of immortality.

20180217_122504.jpg

They have simple, alternating leaves with parted veins and large trumpet shaped bright coloured blossoms (with at least five or more petals each). There are three types of hibiscus flowers (Tropical, Perennial and Hardy) and the most popular varieties are: Hibiscus Syriacus, Hibiscus Sabdariffa and Hibiscus Grenache.

Other uses of the Hibiscus include: In China, they use the hibiscus to polish their shoes. Is used as a natural dye in the food industry. The dried flowers are used in soups, salads, curries and chutneys. The hibiscus tea is a rich source of vitamin C, it lowers cholesterol and blood pressure.

20180217_122441.jpg

Hibiscus Dreams

The sweet fragrance of hibiscus
its petals soaked with dew like sparkling jewels
mingling with the tropical song of the waves dashing against the sandy shore
where my mind travels so often to
tropical birds hush to sleep the world and every living thing
but morning wakes with dew sweet hibiscus blooms
and happy dancing butterflies kiss those petals of hibiscus flowers
such ineffable beauty that takes my breath away and when I inhale
I breathe in the sweet hibiscus blooms mingling with the smell of the salty sea
with my pen to paper I describe what I see and witness in my mind's eye
oh how I wish the journeys on the wings of imagination would last forever
but sadly the all too soon end just like sweet hibiscus dreams

*~Marian~

Happy Gardening!

20180217_122417.jpg

Keep smiling, reading, writing and voting!!

Sort:  

Beautiful flower photography! I love all of the colors

Wow... great flowers. Beautiful color @crazymumzy

I like post you beatifull very good same as me i am new in steemit please help
me i ask for my upvot help

I drink hibiscus iced tea with my Mexican food, and now I know what it's all about. Thanks!

Beautiful flowers, @crazymumzysa ! How big is your garden?

These are beautiful. I liked white one the most. It stands for peace.

gardening is on of the smart hobby in this world. and you have that hobby. good photography. best of luck :)

upvoted&followed :)

I just joined the Steemit family. I was very impressed to see the fascinating flowers.

The way these tropical bloom is so majestic! excellent quality photographs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50