Planting Melons Among The Mielies!

in #gardening4 years ago

Hey everyone, well this should prove to be a rather interesting experiment. I currently have my older melons starting to bear fruit, so exciting. I planned to do an experiment this time around.

A week or two ago I planted another row of mielies (corn) this time around bantam yellow sweet corn. In the interim I decided to try something new and different, I like experimenting with my vegetable gardens and I feel here we have another 'goodie'

20191108_162637.jpg

Melons seem to grow really well as companion plants, the nice thing about this ultimately is a massive water and time saving, as well as saving nutrients and utilizing them effectively!

20191108_164209.jpg

Now for the 'secret sauce' that 5 litre container on the right contains my magic miracle plant fertilizer! This stuff disgusts many, but it works better than any fertilizer I have ever used. A mix of around 500ml - 1 Litre of Urine (yes you heard it) 5 odd table spoons of epsom salts and around the same amount of molasses. Plants literally have never grown better.

20191108_162648.jpg

Often you will see vegetables/leaves showing a yellowing, this is generally a iron deficiency (chlorosis) just a few days after administering my magic mix, these vegetables 'repair' start to green up and thrive like never before, I really do highly recommend it. For all those 'freaked' out by the notion of using urine as a fertilizer, it is totally sterile, so once you have got your head around it a whole new world of gardening possibilities open up!

20191108_164205.jpg

20191108_164221.jpg

Here all planted in compost a few watermelons as well as my tahitian butternuts I germinated a few weeks back. I am so excited about these they seem much bigger than traditional butternuts, the reason I purchased these on www.livingseeds.co.za was because they had no stock of the standard butternuts in the stores, so I tried them and I am very glad I did. The butternuts I planted a few weeks ago have just started bearing fruit, I shall blog those soonest!

20191108_164213.jpg

20191108_162648.jpg

All planted and ready to grow. Can you spot a sneaky surprise in the backdrop? Those are my cannabis/marijuana plants growing very well with their weekly magic medicine and healthy daily dose of sunlight!

20191108_164226.jpg

Now for something a little different. How pretty is this flower? Who knows what vegetable this comes from any guesses?

This is from my brinjal, these too are doing exceptionally well given the magic mix that I administer on a weekly basis, this stuff really is a miracle, threat to big industry? Hardly ;)

20191110_165845.jpg

These boots are made for walking and that's just what I will do. I used to have white gumboots, they got very dirty and sadly just recently broke. I purchased a pair of black ones this time around, so much better working in mud constantly they just don't get as dirty.

Below we have a very healthy happy brinjal looking robust and ready to bear lots of incredible fruit, we have just had some amazing rain which should spur growth rates drastically!

20191110_165851.jpg

In another row a few metres away from these black brinjals (eggplant) I planted some white ones, they are really small currently but as they develop and start to fruit I shall post some nice pics of those coming soon too.

20191110_165848.jpg

Nature certainly is incredible and gardening so rewarding it truly is, be sure to stay tuned for more updates coming soonest and have a magic week.

Cheer$;)

Sort:  

Some kind of pepper?
Or maybe.... pea? lol

LOL brother legit, this stuff works like a miracle I kid you not.. My Tahitian butternut has one fruit every 500cms odd, It keeps throwing roots and each time I put the miracle mix on that spot, throws another fruit. Truly incredible, thanks for popping in. Cheer$;)

You Have Been manually Curated By Vegan-Curate, Here to Curate For the Animals And Heatly Living.

Magic thanks a ton much appreciated. Cheer$;)

Garden looks great. I use cow poop I imagine our local regulators would have a cow if I used that for my market cucumbers. Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hehe you should see the 2 month old mielies, cobs have started, I cant wait. The compost here comprises of horse manure and bedding works well. Cheer$;)

Hi @craigcryptoking!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.939 which ranks you at #4308 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 97 contributions, your post is ranked at #70.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93