Winter Reapers??

in #gardening4 years ago

Hey everyone, this is my first Winter growing Carolina Reapers, albeit doing so with other chilli's before, the general rule of thumb is to cut chilli pepper plants in Winter and when Spring arrives they begin to flower again, been somewhat of a contrarian myself, I did not do that....

What I however did do is, nothing, carry on as usual water and nurture daily and to my utter dismay and surprise they started bearing fruit again?

thumbnail_20200522_090639.jpg

A closer look reveals a small green Carolina Reaper fruit coming out, there are a few actually..

thumbnail_20200522_090410.jpg

I have kept using my 'secret magic sauce' throughout, on these for the last year and it seems to be paying dividends, those of you that followed me on Steemit would know about this mixture ;)

Here my Cayene's also bearing fruit, with such a low leaf volume so surprising but bearing they are, which means I will probably be able to make my usual delicious chilli sauce all year round?

thumbnail_20200522_090647  Copy.jpg

I was shocked the weather is really cold, the leaves all but fallen off, albeit a few new smaller ones coming out, but fruiting they are, how is this possible?

Another interesting phenomenon is these newly germinated reapers are doing very well, germinated in the beginning of Winter and growing well. Our coldest months in South Africa are June and July so at night I will bring them inside the house but for now seem to be doing just fine outside through the night!

thumbnail_20200522_090226  Copy.jpg

I'll grow these until Spring and flog them off for $10 a pop I reckon!

thumbnail_20200522_090230  Copy.jpg

Nature the incredible!

I trust you have an amazing weekend.

Love and light, be blessed!
Cheer$;)

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62