You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's Seed Catalog Season Already!

in #gardening8 years ago

I usually just get catalogs from Burgess Seed Co. in Bloomington, IL. I am not sure how I ever got on their mailing list to begin with, but since they started coming to my house I have ordered dozens and dozens of bare-root trees.

Sort:  

Haha - that's what happens when the catalogs come. I usually get a Burgess catalog, too. Who knows how I got on their list. Looking forward to your posts on your trees - from Burgess or elsewhere!

One of my earliest posts on Steemit was about planting walnut trees as an investment.
https://steemit.com/gardening/@countryinspired/plant-your-walnut-trees-today-for-a-large-future-payout
I planted 40 walnut trees on our property, along with numerous other species. I will post more in the future about trees and their benefits. I will most likely write those posts in early spring when people are really thinking about planting.

Thanks for pointing out your article - very nice! That's a great mix of trees - black walnuts, sugar maples, and Bur oaks. You can eat off all three of those! Walnuts, maple sap and leaves and flowers, and acorns. I'm with you on planting trees. I've got 1.3 acres and have about 100 trees of various sorts. Enjoy your 2017 Burgess catalog when it gets to you!

Thank you!

What is also nice is that when I bought the property it already came with dozens of Mulberry trees, blackberries, and gooseberries. In fact, there are so many berries in the summer that I can't keep up.
We live at a house in town at the moment. We bought it in winter when all the leaves were gone. I wasn't even aware when we were looking at the house that it had three healthy apple trees and two apricot trees that bless us with an abundance of delicious fruit.

That sounds like a great piece of property! And it sounds like you were meant to raise fruit. There isn't much better than eating a well-ripened apricot right off the tree. Fanstastic. You are living large! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60371.26
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54