Hiding from the weather and 'beering'

in #gardening7 years ago

I started doing some gardening work in the last few days and I was hoping I could carry on but it seems the weather has different plans.

20180121_122240_HDR.jpg

It's not all bad though, some plants seem to show off their indifference towards the cold and snow.
20180121_131323.jpg

So now, we get to the 'beering' part. Had another brewing session round my friends house, which was great fun, as usual! 26734391_10159945379905486_2165597327626417271_n.jpg

And as it's impossible to brew beer without drinking some, I had a pretty special one!

This is Wild Beer Co's Tepache which I got as a present from @massive-pop. I like my sours so I was excited about this one!

20180119_180741.jpg

I'll copy the official blurb here :" We have taken this concept and created a strictly grown up version, a spiced pineapple beer. Our Tepache is a light brown beer with a grain bill that includes traditional Mexican maize. It’s tart and funky from our own wild yeast cultures, and is spiced with cinnamon and cloves, yet finishes with a residual sweetness from pineapple and a touch of lactose. "

It's cloudy with a funky as hell smell. Makes you think of fruit gone bad but man... the taste, it's beautiful. Sweet, tart, sour, spicy, all these flavours swirling around, mmmmhmmm.
20180119_183708.jpg

Wild Beer co is a new brewery, focusing on beers made with wild yeasts and alternative fermentation techniques; I am looking forward to try their future creations.

Alright... cheers for following along guys!

Sort:  

Great stuff!! Gardening and beer. 2 things close to my heart lol. Greenhouse looks great. I remember your posts last spring when you were putting it together.

Hehe, Thanks man! Can't wait to have it in full production mode again! Have you started a new crop of potatoes yet or is a bit too early?

I see you making friends with master brewer @mdosev who has just started getting his hands dirty with some lovely peppers. I really need to get my hands on some of his fancy beers tho!

Bit too early for the potatoes. I have 48 pepper plants started though. Still have some cold months to get through before we really see stuff being planted outside..... I am considering very thoroughly maybe building a small greenhouse this summer.

Wow, that's a nice amount of pepper plants!
As for the greenhouse, I say go for it! They're great and they add a month or two to your growing season.

Actually we are three here... with gardening and beer! In my case, beginner gardener, but definitely like to watch my plants growing and my beer foaming! Hehe 🙃

Gonna give ya a follow and keep up with what you are up to!!

Tank you! I’ll keep an eye on your content as well!

Keep it up!! Summer is closing in soon.... ish..... (positive thoughts lol)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75