Growing season started

in #gardening6 years ago

I finally have the first plants reaching a harvestable size in the greenhouse. it's still quite cold outside during the night, so I was quite limited in my choice. I have some salads that are approaching a nice size now.

20180322_155415_HDR.jpg

They're not quite there, but a few more days and I will have the first produce for this year.
20180326_120317_HDR.jpg

My pea seedlings were getting too big for their small growbags and I had to move them into the system, they should handle the low night temps.
20180325_111407_HDR.jpg

Have quite a few, they will stay in the greenhouse for about a month, by that time it should be warm enough for my toms to move in and I'll replace the peas with them. Will see if that will be enough time to give me a quick pea crop before the toms plants are too big to share the pot with the peas.
20180325_144355_HDR.jpg

Have to say, that it's pretty nice spending time in the greenhouse during the day time; it's summer already in there. Too bad that during the nights, the temp are still dropping to 2-3 C.
20180326_120239.jpg

Alright, cheers peeps!

Sort:  

I have to know what hydroponic system you are using! Is this a "Dutch bucket" system? I have some Aerogarden systems set up, as I am a beginner, but will be looking to build some larger systems soon!

My first post on hydroponic strawberries is here.

Hey!
Your strawberries are looking pretty good and they seem just about ready to put out some flowers/fruit! Nice!

You are right, they are Dutch buckets or a simplified version of them. I have an old post here that gives some more detail. They've been working pretty well for me, can't really complain. For watering I'm using a regular aquarium pump on a mechanical timer.

good post. I like the vegetable ssyuran, can for us to eat and can make money.

It's a really relaxing hobby, very rewarding too! Nice post man :)

It is indeed! I 'lose' countless hours just hanging about the greenhouse playing around, heh.

Great post
How long does it take for lettuce to mature for harvest.

Thanks!
It depends on a lot of factors. Regular soil grown should take just under 2 months during the regular growing season. Hydroponic lettuce can be grown in about half thst time but not if you try growing in the winter in an unheated greenhouse like I did this time(Ive just hit the 2 months mark from seed with this grow).

I guess I have to ask because I've never done hydroponics, but what is that you are using in place of soil?

I'm using 2 media: cococoir for germinating and starting the plants and the main one in the buckets is expanded clay pebbles, also called hydroton depending where you are.
Clay pebbles are great, they allow for a plug and play rotation system.

very nice..good idea brother. i like hidroponic plan.
this my foto

That's great man! I can see you've got a pipe system set up as well. I've started building one as well but it's not functional yet.

I've decided to make a greenhouse this year as well. Just a small one for on our deck(we live in an apartment on the forth floor) Just a few veggies and some herbs, and herb, if you know what I mean! Good Luck with your garden!

Nice! Heh, mine is almost 1 year old, outside in view of all my neighbours. The risks are too big for me over here to grow the fun herbs... But fancy tomatoes and cucs are almost as fun, heh.

Please convey this message to others. SMARTSTEEM has some technical problem. It many times does not vote and does not return your money. But the worst part of the story is that if you ask for return of your money, an account known as clvr will start attacking you. Whenever you use any bot and get some vote, this clvr will downvote you and take out a big portion from that. clvr will trace whenever you get some return from any bot and use appropriate voting weight of downvote so that most portion of your return is wiped out. Then you have no other option than to abandon that account and start a new steemit account. But, when you do that, be very careful that you should not do any type of transaction with the new account. clvr is clever enough to find that it is your new account and will start attacking that account too. Anyway, your infected accounts can be safely used to hold your SP and upvote to earn curation rewards.

The best option is that, those people who lose the transferred money to SMARTSTEEM and does not get it returned, should not ask them and should not complain so that at least your account will be safe from the attack of clvr. Just forget that money. I have lost my 3 accounts, but my other accounts are safe because I take care to avoid any type of transaction or up-voting or similarity of posts between the affected and not-affected accounts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66548.53
ETH 3594.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91