End of season for the greenhouse + Gardener's tap

in #gardening7 years ago

The day has finally come. I've removed all the plants from my greenhouse hydroponic system. It's getting pretty cold during the nights now, even in the greenhouse, so there wasn't much point really in keeping the plants in the system anymore. The peppers are lovely though and most of them are ripe.
20171103_162914.jpg

The plants I still had in weren't looking great so I didn't feel too bad about killing them off.
20171103_161014.jpg

With this system is quite easy to remove them, a simple snip and they're gone.
20171103_162928.jpg

I've emptied the buckets and I will leave the clay pebble and root mass to dry off for a while to make cleaning them easier. I was thinking of having a winter crop going in straight away but I will make a few modifications to the system first.
20171103_164818.jpg

A beer was appropriate for this event and I think I found the perfect one. Gardener's tap.
20171103_170157.jpg

The blurb on the back is interesting and it tells the story of how the gardeners at Chatsworth estate secretly tapped into a pipe coming from the old brewery there.
20171103_170232.jpg

For some reason I was expecting a light coloured beer so I was a bit surprised when I saw this. It does match the season though, so it's all good. Rich maltyness with some hops shining through, very moorish.
20171103_170609.jpg

Aaaaand... that's it, first season with my greenhouse had ended now. Building it and designing the hydroponic system was a great experience and the plants seemed to love it. Next season should be even better, heh.

Cheers for having a look!

Sort:  

It looks like the pepper plants were quite successful.

Yeah, they all were really; the peppers might have done with a longer season as some of them didn't get to have fully matured fruit. For next season I will start some plants earlier inside and move them in the greenhouse once it's warm enough.

I have found that starting the plants early always helps with the yield. The plants have more time to grow that way. I think I had little tomato plants in my greenhouse in the first half of May this year, that seems to have helped. I would have left my pepper plants in the greenhouse, but they got infested with aphids early in June, so I moved them outside.

Last season I started my tomatoes and peppers seedlings in Feb, but I think that might have been a bit too early and I stunted them. They exploded come April. I had problems with aphids on my peppers as well; I didn't do anything about them but for next season I am going to kidnap a few ladybugs and see if they can do anything.

Looks like your system was pretty successful this year!

It's always kinna sad to see plants go..

Thanks!
I still have 3 pepper plants I couldn't get myself to kill. I chopped their main stem pretty drastically, but they have some new growth so I might try and overwinter them.

Never hurts to try.

Plants are a lot more resilient than most people think.

True!
I had a climbing squash in my hydro that grew too big and I wanted to kill it. Instead, I put it outside straight in the ground and it produced for 3 months after, heh.

Great gardening/permaculture vid, if you're interested
https://steemit.com/dtube/@torquewrench1969/xkwa8n5x

Thanks! I've watched loads of Geoff Lawton's vids. He is awesome!

This is looking great. Excellent end of the year harvest!!!

Thank you! I'm quite happy with it as well.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 7.0% @peaceandlove upgoat, thanks to @costopher
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @costopher to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received a 0.74 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @costopher.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86