Avocado tree progress - 6 months journey

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Most of us have seen those 'How to grow an avocado tree' posts online and the seed cracking during the germination process always looks pretty cool.

At the end of May/beginning of June I've decided to have a go at it, so I took a seed, pricked it with some toothpicks and put it on top of a glass jar with some water.

In the morning of the 5th of June I woke up to see that the seed cracked. That was exciting!
avocado 1.jpeg

A week later, on the 13th of June, there was a thick root extending into the water.
avocado 2.jpeg
avocado 3.jpeg

I gave it a few more weeks and the stem finally started growing. This was the 5th of July. By this time the root got too big for that little container, so I've moved it into a taller glass.
avocado 33.jpg
avocado44.jpg

As soon as the first leaves formed I've planted it into a tall container. So by the 1st of August I had this little potted avocado tree.
avocado 5.jpeg

Avocado trees are very delicate when it comes to low temps so today I've moved it from the greenhouse to the house to shield it from any frost. It will probably never produce any fruit as I'm in the wrong part of the world for that and because this was grown from a shop bought avocado seed, but it should still grow into a good looking indoor plant.

So here it is, on the 8th of November, about 6 months since I've germinated the seed.
avocado 6.jpg

It is about 40 cm tall, still has a thin stem, but as long as it is inside it should keep growing over the winter.
avocado 7.jpg

Cheers for checking it out!

Cos

Sort:  

If it works well, this is the best method to germinate an avocado seed. Thanks for the post.

Shame it'll never give avocadoes... so yummy. I was in Brazil for the last two years and it's so lush to pick your own avocadoes of the trees!

Do they grow a lot of Avocadoes in Brazil?

Picking avocados in Brazil, that sounds pretty nice!
Yeah, no fruit for me but I guess I'll have to settle for a house plant, heh.

It is a growing sector in Brazil, they're not as famous for them as say Chile or Peru or Mexico, but it seems places like high altitude locations in Minas Gerais have started to go for it. As regards on a non-industrial scale, it's really common in any locations where the climate is favourable for farmers to have a few trees for their own consumption and maybe having a few at a market stall. I was in Paraty and it wasn't extremely common, not liek everyone had a tree, but I definitely knew people who had trees. There were a few different varieties as well, one of them was really buttery and lovely!

OMGosh!!! How great is this?!
You, and your little avocado pit, have really come a long way!

I am impressed.

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @costopher to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thank you!
We'll see how the next 6 months will go.
Cheers!

Ive tried this myself, but didn't wait long enough I guess. I just thought it wasn't going to work.Kudos to you for making it work Really cool.
Following

Thank you!
It was probably just time like you said; it was really slow to germinate and then it took ages to grow a little bit.

When I was 13 I started an Avocado tree this way. I'm now 30, and the poor thing is still in my parents' house, haha! I grew up in Ohio, so it's an indoor-only plant, but somehow it has clung on and is probably one of the more unique houseplants they could have had. Happy growing!

Nice! Well done on caring for that plant and to your parents for putting up with it, heh! I've seen some pictures of old indoor avocado trees and there were some pretty interesting ones. Cheers!

I have tried a couple of different times to grow one from seed.......not once did I get any sort of growth. In fact because I have failed that many times I probably won't try it again, we'll see...maybe....not sure!

That's a shame. The only reasons for that I can think of are temperature and putting the seed the right way up. If you try again, let us know how it worked!
Cheers!

I’ve done this a few times myself, but never managed to get the root to come out so quickly. How come yours rooted in just a week? All of mine had taken at least a couple of months before the root appeared.

It took longer than a week. I put it in water at the end of May, by the 5th of June the seed cracked and it took another 8 days for the root to show up so about 3 weeks in total. I guess you could shorten your 2 months period by having it in a warmer place.

Impressive. Must admit my friend and I tried but did not succeed with avocado. But you motivate me to give another go. 😀

Thanks!
I guess the only tip I can give is to make sure the seed is the right way up in water and to give it time.

Excellent! Thank you very much for sharing the lovely photos and Avocado journey. :)

Glad you enjoyed it! thanks!

You're most welcome!

I have never been able to root an avacado pit! Great tutorial, love the cutie little avacado baby tree too!

Thank you! It's the first time I managed to grow one and yeah, the little tree is pretty cute!
Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49