2018 Hydroponics set up

in #gardening7 years ago

January is coming to an end and the temperatures in my greenhouse are starting to be quite pleasant now so I thought it's about time to get my hydroponic system set up again.

A couple of weeks ago I took it all apart and cleaned everything with some bleach. Today I put it back together with some small modifications.

Last season I had 3 lines with about 20 dutch buckets in total. Because It got too overcrowded last year and it was difficult to get between the rows to work on the plants I decided to get rid of one of the lines and reduced the number of buckets to 14.
20180117_120013.jpg

I'm going to show just a few quick pics, I have the build details in an old post here.

20180117_120019.jpg

20180117_120141.jpg

20180117_122959_HDR.jpg

Testing that everything is water tight and all the feed lines are working properly.
20180117_125004_HDR.jpg

Tank and water pump.
20180117_125715_HDR.jpg

And a full view.

20180117_125738_HDR.jpg

Tomorrow I will add the grow media and will start some salad seeds for a quick crop before the actual start of the growing season.

Cheers guys!

Sort:  

Wow, man!
I didn't know that you were into gardening so much! I recently started growing Hot Peppers and this week got my first hydroponic setup (just a little ones, to give it a try).
No pumps, no pipes, only some jars and little containers, but I'm so excited now.
Wish you all the best!

Thanks man! Yeah, built my greenhouse last year and had a blast during the first growing season.
The passive hydro methods are working great as well - just a lil tip, remove the dead/fallen leaves from your soil as they get mouldy and they will affect your plant later on!
Hope those pepper plants will give a good bounty!

That is amazing, I've always thought about doing either aquaponics or hydroponics. The lack of brain cells is what is holding me back. Seems to complex for a simple programmers mind.

Thank you!

Hehe, a hydroponics system can be as simple or complicated as you want it to be and I'm sure you could have a lot of fun introducing an arduino and some sensors + some code into the system to let you know what's up :D

Yeah man, I'd love to see the end product! Growing your own food is the way to go nowadays.

Don't worry, I'll plaster my veggies all over my steemit, they won't be hidden, heh. Last season was great fun and I'm sure Imma enjoy it again this year!
Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50