Peas, Peppers And Tomato Seedling Week 3 Update

in #gardening6 years ago

Grow Baby Grow

IMG_7810.JPG

Plants are just some of the most amazing things. These tiny seeds somehow bring us an abundance of food. It's simply amazing. Once I started gardening it soon became the hobby that I enjoyed the most. Nothing gives me the feeling that growing your own food does. I have been a fisherman and a very occasional hunter throughout my life, but there is just something about growing vegetables. Although I do enjoy eating meat there is a feeling that I get every time I kill something regardless of the size of the animal. Most people, especially those that don't hunt or fish, often don't even consider the pain that animals go through so that we can eat the meat we do. That is one part that I really love about gardening... nothing with a brain has to feel pain and instead when animals die and organic matter decomposes the plants are there to use death to create life and restart the cycle. It's truly amazing in my opinion. Ok.. enough of my "love for plants" rant.

Progress After The Cats Ate The First Seedlings

A week after my first batch sprouted the cats had pretty much cleaned me out with the exception of the peas. It's wild how quick this one variety of peas is growing compared to the other variety. I also planted a 3rd variety as I stated in my last post because I found more peas while digging through my seed collection and I figured what the hell, might as well.

IMG_7812.JPG
This is a shot of my 3rd pea variety that I found and also some of the peppers that I planted. Last year my peppers didn't even make it this far without the cats chomping them down. I still have yet to devise a system to keep them off the table entirely. These will be pepperoncini peppers. I am really looking forward to them and I will probably pickle them much like the ones you buy from the store but with a little bit more spice :D!

Some Mortgage Lifter and Super Sweet 100 Hybrid Tomatoes

IMG_7813.JPG
At the seedling stage it can be very hard for someone to tell the difference between a tomato and a pepper plant but a sure way to tell the tomato plant is to look for the little hairs on the stem. If buried these little hairs will turn to roots, in my opinion that is such a cool thing. When you transplant them you can literally bury them right up to the bottom set of leaves it everything below that will turn into a root system. Like I said, plants are amazing. I believe they are so underappreciated with how detached the majority of our society is to the source of our foods. It's never too late to start growing healthy food for you and your family. Every little bit counts! Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

You got a 10.70% upvote from @mitsuko courtesy of @coin-garden! .

Join our team and delegate your SP to earn passive income.
Get part of 90% @mitsuko profit based on your delegated SP
Delegate 10 SP
Delegate 100 SP
Delegate 200 SP
Delegate 300 SP
Delegate 500 SP
Delegate 1000 SP

or custom delegation SP

Well done .. Beautiful, glory to the Creator
Great post from you
Thanks for sharing

Can't wait to see you harvest your beautiful vegetables!

You got a 15.38% upvote from @proffit courtesy of @coin-garden!
Send at least 0.01 SBD/STEEM to get upvote , Send 1 SBD/STEEM to get upvote + resteem

You got a 16.45% upvote from @profitbot courtesy of @smidge-tv!
Join our team and delegate your SP to earn passive income.
Get part of 85% @profitbot profit based on your delegated SP
by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
10SP|20SP|50SP|75SP|100SP|200SP|300SP|500SP|1000SP|custom

Love the post, start following you! I feel the same way about plants as you and also recently got into gardening more, though I have grown food plants and mushrooms in the past. I'm also growing peas and peppers this year from seed, but alread have 3 variety hot pepper plants, strawberries growing from root, mint thats been in the ground for 3 years as well as cilantro, radish and cucumber from seeds. Will be adding more very soon.

You got a 7.52% upvote from @thebot courtesy of @coin-garden!
Please delegate us Steem Power & get 100% daily rewards share!

Your seedlings are looking great and I am looking forward to following their growth. You are so right about the satisfaction of growing and eating from your own gardens.

You got a 16.50% upvote from @whalecreator courtesy of @coin-garden! Delegate your Steem Power to earn 100% payouts.

This post has received a 9.81% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

Interested to earn daily? Delegate Steem Power to receive 95% payout rewards. Use this link https://on.king.net/shares to delegate SP to @Shares. Join us at https://steemchat.com/ discord chat.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94