My organic backyard garden, nutritious food from the earthsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

  I spent Sunday afternoon watering and picking some things that have ripened, like peas, lettuce and berries. This is my second post with pictures and some updates of food growing in my garden.

 The onions are filling out nicely right on schedule. I learned to plant them shallow and bend over the greens to help get larger bulbs.


 Celery is doing great pretty much all on it's own.


 Some basil growing inside a row of cinder blocks next to the kale and potatoes.


 Zucchini growing rapidly, one or two should be ready in a week or so.


 Rhubarb is healthy and strong this year, already have several bags chopped and frozen.


 I have several different peppers growing this summer. Jalapenos, red peppers, green peppers and some unnamed "hot" peppers which have all mostly started to flower.


 What garden is complete without tomatoes. These won't be ready for a couple weeks yet but there are lots on the way.


 The cucumbers are getting very close to ready to pick. These vines will produce fresh cucumbers for months.


Updates

 The broccoli is continuing to grow larger and...


 ...it continues to broccoli after you cut off the main head. You rock broccoli, I'll call you rockoli.


 The cabbage has formed some nice firm heads and will be ready for harvest soon.


That's all for now, thanks for taking a look and please stick around for more.

Sort:  

Wow - beautiful organic garden!!! Be proud!

Hi @ckurtish, some excellent produce you've got coming on there.

I love my garden, and bringing in fresh fruit and veg every day is the best part of it. Today we harvested broad beans, peas, onions, potatoes and courgettes.

I look forward to seeing more from your garden.

From my garden in tonight's dinner I had fresh potatoes, chives, peas, greens, fresh cherry sauce (neighbors tree) and blueberries. It's pretty cool.

Tasty @ckurtish. Our cherries didn't do well this year alas - hopefully better next year. And we have just planted blueberries so they should be on the menu in the future.

Nice! I cannot wait till I get a garden started, hopefully this spring.

Your garden is putting on quite the show! Congratulations on those great veggies well on their way! Your basil looks like what I want mine to look like..Dark green and shiny. Mine is more pale...I'm wondering if the heat is getting to it...Anyway. Great post! Following!

Thank you! My basil only gets direct sunlight for about half the day and it seems to like that.

I definitely need to be more strategic in where I plant it then. Mine gets way too much sun.. Bah!!

Growing in the cindercrete blocks is a good idea. Also good job on the celery I've never had success with that.

Makes me miss my garden! LOVE IT!

Nothing tastes better than homegrown. Beautiful garden.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.21 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 17 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52