ORGANIC FARMING JOURNEY #1: KICK-OFF

in #gardening7 years ago

After a long while being away from Steemit, I have decided to come back and share what makes me busy these days: ORGANIC FARMING.

IMG_20170608_091411.jpg

My team has chosen a piece of land which was a watermelon plantation about a year ago. After the harvest, this land has not been used since, which is good because the synthetic fertilizers have been drained out or have already dissolved. This gives us a land that is more nurtured by nature's natural organic matter.

IMG_20170627_081147.jpg

We have actually finished plowing the field with the help of our strong friends.

IMG_20170627_081205.jpg

Plots have been prepared and soon tomato seedlings will be transplanted.

IMG_20170704_113318.jpg

Around 500 tomato seedlings will be planted here from our seedling trays.

IMG_20170625_120141.jpg

In the next post installment, we will show how plots will be covered with plastic mulching to prevent weeds from growing and to keep the soil moistened. Follow our journey to organic farming for better food production and healthy lifestyle. We will be posting our ogranic farm implements and protocol on this project. Keep in touch. We hope to share good information in organic farming to everyone in Steemit community.

Cheers!

Sort:  

100% upvote, Resteemed and followed. Keep up the good work. I would like to encourage you to try mulching with clover and vermicompost rather then plastic :] Your returns will appreciate it.

im looking at alternative mulching materials and will try the more natural and indigent materials whenever possible. thanks for the suggestions and for the resteem. followed you as well. Cheers!

i wish you all the best with your organic farming. i hope to really learn a lot from you...

thanks. i hope i can share valuable info on organic farming. i myself am excited with this project. thanks for dropping by.

the pleasure is mine, i will be so glad to learn from you

Wow this is wonderful! I'm so happy to see that you're posting about your organic farming!! I try to use organic dairy and produce in all of my recipes that I post and in my day-to-day. But I've never seen it broken down in a step-by-step manner, and would love to learn about the implements and protocol that you use. Thank you for posting about this, and you have a new follower. I look forward to seeing the rest of the process! :)

thanks for following. and glad to hear from a fellow enthusiast about organic farming and stuff. what im actually working on now is a demo farm for my community in our locale. i want to show them that organic farming is not as difficult as other people are saying. it's actually cost-effective in the long run. you bet i'll be posting future progress of this project. hope to share some good stuff here. Cheers!

I wish all farms did it this way. No tractor and no chemicals. Good job. Following u now.

thanks for the follow and appreciate your kind words. it's nice to go back to more natural ways of doing things. as we plow the fields, I keep wandering about the social life our water buffalo. this is the most hard-working animal I know.

Thank you for sharing. I've always wanted to give up the city life for organic farming.

that would be one good decision to make in your lifetime. make it ASAP ;-)

I had to compromise half way. Living in LA, packed garden in my small space :]

I used to work and live in Bangkok and space is limited there, too. I managed to setup my aquaponic system in my porch of 1meter x 4 meters. I grew pakchoy and morning glory with tilapia helping out ;-)

Agreed, need a lot of space to start. Hopefully I can get myself some land one day soon. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65