You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Green Waste Recycling: One Community Gets With The Program.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Some of those recycling programs are market driven. If there's a market for compost I don't have a problem with some entrepreneur making a living occupying a niche that keeps stuff out of the landfill. Here, it's the initiative of a municipality. Taxpayers pay for this service, so it isn't really free. However it comes about it's still a move in the right direction though people need to be a bit more aware of what they throw away.

My son has a tree service so I get dump truck loads of chips. What amazes me is that he can't even give these chips away, let alone sell them. People will even hire him to remove or prune a tree and then make sure he blows all the chips into his truck. He tells them how good they are as a ground cover but the people (I kid you not) tell him that they are going to buy died chips for mulching because they don't look so messy. Unbelievable.

Sort:  

Oh my, I'd kill to have a wood chip source. I practice back to eden gardening. I just have to remember, I was ignorant once too, but boy, my eyes are wide open now.

That's great. And what we learn we have to pass on.
I don't know what it's like where you live, but if there are any tree services in your area, give them a call. Most of the time, if they don't have property of their own to dump on, they have to go to a dump and pay to dump their chips. If you aren't far from where they are working they're often thrilled to dump it on your property. Davie Tree is nationwide and clears out the power line right of ways. If you see them working, stop and talk to them. They're nice guys, usually. Good luck

I'm out in the boonies so not as likely to happen as perhaps a city location. But, I'll definitely do that. We all benefit. They save gas and time and I get the goodies!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64863.39
ETH 3196.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53