Testing My Seeds From last Year to See if They are Still Good Here are 2 Tricks to Test Them

in #gardening7 years ago

I finally decided to take a day off from the shop today. If your a Woodworker, you understand that this is a rare occasion. So today, after chatting with @gardengirlcanada I decided that I should test the seeds I had left over from last year to see which ones I need to order for this Spring.

There are 2 ways that I rely on to test my seeds. The first method is to place the seeds in a wet to moist paper towel and put that paper towel in a Ziplock baggy on toss it on top of the fridge where it is warm, check the power towel a couple of times over the next few days to see if they have germinated. I find that your package of seeds will normally only germinate 8 out of 10 of your seeds.

seed 1.JPG

The second faster way to see if a seed is still viable is to take the seed you want to test and place it in a glass of water, let it soak for about 15 minutes if the seed sinks, then your seeds are still good, if they begin to float then there is a good chance that they are not good for growing with. While this method is not the best method, it is reliable.

seeds 2.jpg

Think I am going to order some new seeds that I have not grown before, like squash, I like squash.

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Image Source:
http://tmousecmouse.blogspot.ca/2010/07/preparing-to-prepare-to-prepare.html

Sort:  

Squash is a fun plant to grow. I think the blooms are simply pretty. I enjoy watching the bees crawl around because the flowers are so big. They are like kids in a candy store. Bees enjoy them. The Squash Are Also Yummy To Eat. I prefer straight verses crook neck but everyone has their favs. Good luck this year. We are warming up and are last threat of frost is in about 30 days. We have to start making ready soon.

This is a great idea to test the seeds prior to taking the time trying to get them to germinate!

Great idea. I did not know you could test seeds. Will definitely try this.

Very interesting. We will have to do this @binkley when we do our garden. Maybe this year we have will a promising supply of yummy food!

Go for it. Growing food is relatively simple once you work out all the bugs, through learning. I enjoy the fresh taste.

Yes the fresh taste and less chemicals is why we want to grow. Plus it is much cheaper then buying at the store which is 20 miles from our home.

Sometimes you literally have to work out the the bugs
Cough cough tomato horn worm

I grew the most delicious squash this year, just one of them, but it was simply the sweetest and best textured squash I have ever had. I hope you have good luck growing squash :)

Thank you, I have never grown it, so kinda excited to see how it all works out.

Congratulations @canadianwoodguy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64526.07
ETH 3116.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55